Cream of Herb Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
This was really good! I used half and half and chicken base (from Sam's club) and it was still very good! I'd like to try it with vegetable broth. Will definitely make again. Maybe a dash of white wine for complexity.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Pewaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2010
YUMMMMMMM! This is wonderful! I added mushrooms too! This is the first soup I have ever made and it turned out great! Loved having a use for my herbs in the garden.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2009
How can you go wrong with cream soup? I actually skipped the simmering for 30 minutes because I accidentally added the cream with the broth. Turned out great anyway. Great way to use herbs and spinach from the garden!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2009
I loved this concept, and since I had read the reviews, I loved the end product. I did increase all the vegetables and herbs to double what was written, and only cooked the soup for 10 minutes after I had added the spinach and herbs. It was delicious. Thanks for the idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: May 6, 2009
I love the idea and the name of this a lot more than the recipe as written. The broth is going to be FAR too thin if you make it as written, you will need to double the flour (at least) to get a good, velvetty texture. I ended up increasing all of the herbs to at least one cup. Cooking the herbs/spinach for 30 minutes is extreme overkill; they really only need to be cooked long enough to soften and let the flavor out - 15 minutes, tops. In the end, this was a very servicable appetizer soup, but I think the idea could be put to much better use than this recipe. Thanks for letting me try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2008
Was surprised how well everyone liked this. I basically made it thinking only hubby and I would like it, but, the kids loved it too! My broth came out very thin, next time I may add a bit more flour. The only changes I made was using a sweet white onion instead of green onion because that was all I had. Severd with fish & rice, perfect compliment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tizzylizz
Home Town: Milford, Michigan, USA
Living In: Apex, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2008
I made this for a dinner party and everyone really liked it. The only issue I had was I changed the servings to 6 for 6 people and there wasn't enough to make full bowls for everyone. I would plan on more servings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2007
This is one of the best recipes I've tried from this site. I made it for a dinner party and everyone raved about this soup. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2007
Awesome recipe. We all loved it. The best thing about it was that my toddler who is a very fussy eater loved it too. Thanks for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AK Dan
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2007
I was skeptical at first about making a soup out of nothing but herbs, but this was so good. Because my wife is allergic to onions, I substituted onion powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Juneau, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Cream of Asparagus Soup

See how to make creamy fresh asparagus soup.

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States