Cream of Herb Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2015
I wanted a vegetable cream sauce that was just a little bit different from my usual Alfredo Sauce to use over Pasta for our "Meatless Mondays" dinner, and this soup (which, admittedly, I totally changed) served as a GREAT base for that purpose (hence, the 5 stars). My "tweaks" included using 3/4 stick of Butter (as opposed to just 3 T.) and 2 pre-cooked (and fully mashed) YukonGold Potatoes instead of flour to make my roux. Then I used 5 Vegetable Bouillon cubes (plus 5 cups of water) instead of chicken broth plus the recommended 1 cup of Half-and-Half (I actually used 1/2 cup of Heavy/Whipping Cream plus 1/2 cup Homogenized Milk) to make the base sauce. I used 1/2 pkg. frozen chopped Spinach, 1/2 pkg. frozen Cauliflower, and 1/2 cup of shredded Carrots as my vegetables. Although I actually altered this recipe irrevocably, I am reviewing it here because I genuinely liked the idea of using Scallions instead of yellow onions and the addition of just the right amount of sugar. I would never have thought to use either of these ingredients instead of my own "old stand-bys", but these 2 adjustments made a BIG difference in the end product. I added the Basil, Parsley, Salt, and Pepper as directed, but I also sprinkled some Paprika over our Pasta just before serving; as always, I made a grated Parmesan/Rommano cheese mix available at the dinner table. I made 2 different shapes of Pasta -- Fusilli for the Adults and Bowties for the Grandchildren -- and EVERYBODY simply gobbled it up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Manassas, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2015
Very flavorful soup! I added some chopped chives, decreased the chicken broth to 4 cups, added 1 1/2 cups of milk and a splash of white wine vinegar. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2014
Very tasty, but with lots of adjustments: 1) Switch the 2 tsp of butter to saute onion in and 3 tbsp for the roux. The other way around the roux just gets lumpy and the onions don't need that much butter. 2) Saute onions for 3-4 minutes. I used an entire 10oz bag spinach because it's what I had and wanted to use up. Won't need 10 minutes--only saute until wilted, maybe 3 minutes. 3) Reduce broth by half otherwise way too watery. And simmer the spinach and herbs for 4-5 minutes max otherwise a) you kill all the nutrition and b) the spinach gets too mushy. 4) Make the roux BEFORE adding the half and half. Return the roux to the soup and then add half and half. H&H can also be reduced to 1/4-1/2 cup to save on calories. These adjustments really helped, otherwise I think it unfortunately, wouldn't have turned out well. Quite tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
Awesome comfort soup! Everyone I've made this for loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blondiegirl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
This was really good! I used half and half and chicken base (from Sam's club) and it was still very good! I'd like to try it with vegetable broth. Will definitely make again. Maybe a dash of white wine for complexity.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Pewaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2010
YUMMMMMMM! This is wonderful! I added mushrooms too! This is the first soup I have ever made and it turned out great! Loved having a use for my herbs in the garden.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2009
How can you go wrong with cream soup? I actually skipped the simmering for 30 minutes because I accidentally added the cream with the broth. Turned out great anyway. Great way to use herbs and spinach from the garden!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2009
I loved this concept, and since I had read the reviews, I loved the end product. I did increase all the vegetables and herbs to double what was written, and only cooked the soup for 10 minutes after I had added the spinach and herbs. It was delicious. Thanks for the idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: May 6, 2009
I love the idea and the name of this a lot more than the recipe as written. The broth is going to be FAR too thin if you make it as written, you will need to double the flour (at least) to get a good, velvetty texture. I ended up increasing all of the herbs to at least one cup. Cooking the herbs/spinach for 30 minutes is extreme overkill; they really only need to be cooked long enough to soften and let the flavor out - 15 minutes, tops. In the end, this was a very servicable appetizer soup, but I think the idea could be put to much better use than this recipe. Thanks for letting me try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2008
Was surprised how well everyone liked this. I basically made it thinking only hubby and I would like it, but, the kids loved it too! My broth came out very thin, next time I may add a bit more flour. The only changes I made was using a sweet white onion instead of green onion because that was all I had. Severd with fish & rice, perfect compliment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tizzylizz
Home Town: Milford, Michigan, USA
Living In: Apex, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

How to Make Cream of Asparagus Soup

See how to make creamy fresh asparagus soup.

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States