Cream Of Garlic Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2003
This is very good. I used 3 cups of bouillon and only 1/2 cup wine and it was perfect. My 5 year olds even enjoyed it. My husband loved it. I used red wine instead bec. that's all I had and the color still came out cream. We will definitely make this one again and again. It tastes like something I had in Europe with clams in it. One day, I'll add clams and difinitely add more potatoes. thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2000
if garlic doesn't scare you this is a rare and special soup. I never look for "Really quick" recipes since one doesn't need to stand and watch the soup cook anyway, but it's fairly quick and very good!i tasted this somewhere and didn't quite know how to start - and found it here. thanks, Holly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2001
I really loved this soup. It was well worth the effort!!I will make this soup again and again. I found it an inexpensive meal starter. Great work Holly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2001
This soup was AWESOME! I'm a garlic lover, which you really have to be in order to truly enjoy the soup's potency. It was very smooth and creamy. I served it with warm french bread - what a hit! May also be yummy thinned a little with some fresh veggies added. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2001
This is an amazing recipe! The house smelled great while it was cooking, and the taste of the soup lived up to the promise of the aroma! I used non-fat milk, but the soup was still creamy and flavourful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2002
Great soup! This is a must for the Garlic Lover!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BECMEISTER

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2003
Wonderful mellow flavour!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2003
I have been looking for a garlic soup recipe that tasted like some I had in New Orleans. This was it. It was not difficult to make and tasted heavenly. Not too strong but that depends on what type of garlic you use. My family and coworkers loved it. The extra time it takes to make this soup is worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AWHEEL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Abbeville, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2003
Absolutely delicious - a real crowd pleaser!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2005
I also made this soup because everyone in my household had a cold. It definitely helped (garlic is a natural antibiotic). Here are some things the recipe doesn't tell you: 3/4 cup of garlic = about two full bulbs (not cloves, bulbs). Sautee the garlic until some of it just begins to brown (this is the "color" it references). Sautee the garlic slowly or else it will get bitter and stir constantly or else it will stick. Preparing and cooking the garlic is the most labor intensive part of the recipe. I used about 1.25-1.5 cups diced potatoes (about 3 medium sized ones) to help thicken which is quite a bit more than what is called for. Also to thicken the soup and make it more of a bisque add two rounded tablespoons of corn starch (or 4 tbls flour) before pureeing. If your blender has a "whip" cycle, use it. Let it whip/puree for a good 5 minutes (you might have to do half at a time); this will help make that whipping cream do its job. Next return the soup to the pan and boil for 1 minute; this will help the corn starch/flour do what it does best. This soup came out SO good! The flavor was mild, but then again I'm Italian and immune to garlic’s pungency. I think if you like garlic you'll love this creamy version of the soup. If you don't like garlic, don't try this, it's not for you. It will help a cold if you have one or help prevent one if you feel one coming on. My whole family loved this with warm rolls and butter! I hope you enjoy it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

Spanish Garlic Soup

See how to make a simple soup that “causes happiness from the inside out.”

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States