Cream Of Garlic Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 20, 2008
Halved the recipe. Added a tablespoon of cornstarch to thicken the cream a little bit. I do love garlic, i really do, but didn't like this, ok, it's edible, but...well... it's kind of boring. Served this with homemade croutons but they didn't help too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lorena

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Vigo, Galicia, Spain
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2008
The taste was terrific, but the consistency was too watery. Next time, I'll at least double the amount of potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2008
I loved this soup and will definitely make it again. I did however change it slightly. I added about 3 cupes of cubed potatoes and 2 cups of wine. I did not puree my soup and used a potatoe masher instead. It still had a bit of texture that way. I cooked it an extra 15 minutes because after I mashed with the potatoe masher I added a bunch of chopped Kale and cooked it for the additional 15 minutes. It was ssoooo good. As for the smell...WOW...is all I can say. My son is still mad at me. Thanks Holly for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2007
This was the starter for Xmas dinner and it went over very well with everyone. I cut down the garlic to one head and used Trader Joe's truffle oil instead of regular olive oil. After I started the recipe I realized that my spuds were bad so after browning the garlic I added a chopped,small head of cauliflower and 2 shallots and sauteed them a bit longer. I then added the chicken broth, wine, salt and cayenne and simmerd that until the veges were tender. I then pureed it in the Cuisinart and then added a pint of half and half and held it for a hour over a low flame. (It held really well.) My 12 y/o thought a bit of scallop or lobster would have been a good addition. It was garlicky but not overpowering, rich and creamy but not too heavy. I would make it again but next time I might try fat-free half and half so it would be ok for SBD.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Arlington, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2007
I love garlic but im not sure about this.It was thin and I added 4 times the amount of potatoes.not sure if I will try again. If I do I would add more potatoes and a little less garlic. maybe a half cup. thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by willnikki

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Freehold, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: May 16, 2007
This was so good. I went on a cruise last week and had some so I knew I had to find a recipe for me to be able to make it at home. I followed the recipe almost exactly except I did add more potato because I didn't want to throw out the excess. I used two bulbs (not cloves) of garlic and one large russet potato. Be careful when you puree the soup because the whipping cream expands. I would advise doing half and then the other half. My roommate has been raving about how great it is, but it is VERY garlic-y so if you don't like garlic, keep away. Our apartment smells great. Very easy recipe. Most of the time is just waiting around for things to simmer, so it did take longer then I expected, but was worth it. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2007
This didn't seem to be as much work as some of the others suggested. Maybe I just knew that it would be worth it so it didn't bother me. Some of the other reviewers also suggested that this recipe might be to runny. I followed the recipe exactly (with the exception of using more broth instead of wine) and it turned out just like we had experienced on our cruise vacations. This is great served out of bread bowls!! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2007
A very nice soup. Like many others, I have tweaked it a little although I must confess that some of the tweaking was accidental. I used (by mistake) 1 lt of chicken stock and as such had to reduce the other fluids accordingly to prevent it being too runny. And it still turned out perfectly. The following is my amended ingredient list: •2 large full bulbs of garlic •3 tablespoons olive oil •1 litre chicken stock – made with stock cubes •175ml red wine •400ml milk •250g Brocolli – remove stalks •250ml of half fat cream (Demi Cream) •3 medium sized potatoes - cooked and quartered •salt and pepper, plus a dash of ground chili •4 tbls plain flour – used before pureeing. The cooking process was the same. I did take the advice of other contributors and add flour before pureeing and returning the pureed mix to heat for 2-3 minutes before serving. I also added extra potato and brocolli head. My girlfriend's comment: "The Best Soup Ever!". Guys, if your wife/girlfriend loves garlic, then this soup will certainly impress them. I have frozen all the extra that i made and can only hope that it survives this. Thanks Holly + the other contributors who have tweaked this great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2006
This soup was not only watery even tho I added more potatoes than called for, the taste wasn't that good either. With the cost of the wine, heavy cream, and other ingredients I think it is very expensive to make. It is also very high in calories. Will not be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2005
This recipe is a really easy one to customize. I use half & half instead of heavy cream, first of all. Secondly, this recipe is fantastic if you add veggies. I cook onions separately. Puree it early, then add the cooked onion, a half head of cauliflower, and 2 zucchinis. Simmer them about 15 min, very VERY gently so you don't curdle the milk and cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

How to Make Cream of Asparagus Soup

See how to make creamy fresh asparagus soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States