Cream Of Garlic Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2005
This soup is great. I use so much garlic that I buy it from Sam's Club already peeled, so it was no problem. I used chicken base, which worked fine. Instead of cooking the milk/cream with potatoes (I doubled the amount of potatoes), after I pureed it, I put in maybe 3/4 C. half and half and it came out very nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2005
I also made this soup because everyone in my household had a cold. It definitely helped (garlic is a natural antibiotic). Here are some things the recipe doesn't tell you: 3/4 cup of garlic = about two full bulbs (not cloves, bulbs). Sautee the garlic until some of it just begins to brown (this is the "color" it references). Sautee the garlic slowly or else it will get bitter and stir constantly or else it will stick. Preparing and cooking the garlic is the most labor intensive part of the recipe. I used about 1.25-1.5 cups diced potatoes (about 3 medium sized ones) to help thicken which is quite a bit more than what is called for. Also to thicken the soup and make it more of a bisque add two rounded tablespoons of corn starch (or 4 tbls flour) before pureeing. If your blender has a "whip" cycle, use it. Let it whip/puree for a good 5 minutes (you might have to do half at a time); this will help make that whipping cream do its job. Next return the soup to the pan and boil for 1 minute; this will help the corn starch/flour do what it does best. This soup came out SO good! The flavor was mild, but then again I'm Italian and immune to garlic’s pungency. I think if you like garlic you'll love this creamy version of the soup. If you don't like garlic, don't try this, it's not for you. It will help a cold if you have one or help prevent one if you feel one coming on. My whole family loved this with warm rolls and butter! I hope you enjoy it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2005
This soup was terrific (gotta like garlic a lot). I didn't have any wine and still it was delicious! I found it just a bit too creamy for my taste so I added a bit more milk.....about 3/4cup. As for the smell in the house, well, that was a bit hard to take and about six hours later I could still smell it on my jacket that was hanging in the kitchen. Anyway, I truly enjoyed this soup and will definately make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2004
This is the second time I've made this soup. Here's what I did this time. I skipped the cream and the wine and added probably the same amount in potatoes. Then I pureed with my hand blender till I got the thickness I wanted. Good soup! BTW...made this because I had a cold. It fixed all my problems! LOL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MINNIE000

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Niverville, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2004
This has a very strong garlic flavor. The whole house smelled like garlic. I really liked it, my husband thought the garlic was too strong. I added flour to it to thicken it, I also added a stick of butter for flavor. I will probably make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2004
This tasted just ok. The main problem I had was it was too runny. I had to add cornflour to thicken it up. If I was to make again I would reduce the liquid by half and increase the potato.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hot Chilli

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2003
Absolutely delicious - a real crowd pleaser!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2003
This was really good, and pretty easy to make. You definitely want to puree this before eating, otherwise the soup can be rather watery. It was very garlicky, which I like, I let me co-worker try a spoonful and the garlic almost knocked her over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Verena
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2003
I have been looking for a garlic soup recipe that tasted like some I had in New Orleans. This was it. It was not difficult to make and tasted heavenly. Not too strong but that depends on what type of garlic you use. My family and coworkers loved it. The extra time it takes to make this soup is worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AWHEEL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Abbeville, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2003
Cleaning the garlic takes a long, long time, and even though I love garlic, this soup tasted too strongly of garlic. It is definitely not worth the time you have to invest in making this soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by danube66

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Budapest, Pest, Hungary
Living In: Carmel, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

Spanish Garlic Soup

See how to make a simple soup that “causes happiness from the inside out.”

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States