Cream Of Garlic Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2014
It's good...i added 2 cups of potatoes which gave it a thicker consistency like other reviewers suggested. It will be a good winter soup. Makes a lot of soup so will probably decrease ingredients by half next time. I served with shredded cheddar cheese sprinkled on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2013
Very good, but believe it or not it could have used more garlic! :-) I sauteed a stalk of celery, finely chopped, then added the garlic. I put the potatoes in with the broth & wine so they'd actually be fully cooked, and added bay scallops for the last few minutes. Yum!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deborah Jacques

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2012
I have a similar recipe from some gourmet friends and it's long been a family favorite. A couple of things that may be helpful to people who complained about the time it takes: 1. Williams-Sonoma (and probably many other kitchen shops) sells an open tube of green rubbery plastic that is ideal for quickly peeling multiple cloves. You can insert several, roll it back and forth, and the peeled cloves just tumble out. Some enterprising person could probably replicate this effect with . . . oh, one of those rubberized jar openers or something. 2. I skip cooking the garlic in oil and just simmer it in the broth, which saves a step and cuts back on fat. It still tastes fabulous. 3. We also add about two baked potatoes, and use an immersion blender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2012
Made this twice. First time was just like the recipe. It's very garlicky which I loved but the rest of the family thought was too much. The second time I roasted the garlic and omitted the wine and added more stock. It was very good. Very, very good!!! It was still garlicky but it was a more mellow flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
Really Garlic-y and Really Good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Libertyville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
really did not care for this
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamden, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Providence, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lovestohost
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
My HS French teacher used to take us to a local fine dining inn for a special "french" meal and Garlic Soup was always on the menu. Sadly, the restaurant changed owners/directions and I've never again come across "Garlic Soup" on any menus. I reached out to fellow cooks here on the Buzz and one of them (I'm sorry I forget who!) recommended this recipe as a possible jumping off point. A couple of years later, I just finally got around to making it. Wow. Amazing. This soup is fantastic! I followed the recipe to a "T", w/the small exception that I did not measure my EVOO to start. I also had no need to add salt/pepper at service. Oh, and I'm lazy, so I used my immersion blender rather than a blender to puree the soup. It was on the borderline of being too garlicky, so I think I will ever so slightly decrease the garlic next time as well as slightly increase the potato. There WILL be a next time. THANKS for the amazing recipe, MARBALET, and I apologize for the lackluster photo. THere'll def be no vampires at the LTH house tonight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovestohost

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
To emphasize what others have said - you have to love garlic to love this. How I differed from the recipe - I added 2 shallots that I needed to use up, and a little over a cup of potato (didn't see the point in not using the whole thing) and I used 1/2 and 1/2 because that's what I had. Also ended up adding about a teaspoon of sugar as the garlic was a little bitter even though I didn't burn it - I think a few of the cloves were past their prime. Added about 1/4 cup chopped fresh parsley before I blended everything, as well as 2 tablespoons of flour. Next time I think I'll add twice as much potato. I have a feeling this will be even better tomorrow. A word of caution - this takes longer to make than the time stated, especially if you're peeling your own garlic. When all was said and done it took me about 2 hours, maybe a little more, but it was worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amissville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
I made this tonight. Very tasty. I bought a BAG of garlic bulbs from the farmers market and needed a soup and potato recipe that would help me use the garlic up. Well... this one did. Was getting scared as it uses at least 2 full bulbs but once it was made it wasn't over powering at all. Granted you must like garlic to dive into this one and I do! I forgot to get cream at the store so I increased my milk to 3C and added an extra potato so I could get the creaminess of the soup. I also added some mild Italian sausage as my husband doesn't think of soup as a meal. Turn out great and it was soooo easy I'm definitely going to make this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2011
It was delicious, the only thing I changed though was the amount of garlic. I used a whole cup instead, because in my family you can never use to much garlic. It turned out fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

Spanish Garlic Soup

See how to make a simple soup that “causes happiness from the inside out.”

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States