Cream Of Chicken Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2009
It served its purpose and gave me lots left over for other recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristian

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Summerfield, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2012
i use this is cooking for things that need cream of chicken soup and it is perfect for it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2006
Truly excellant taste. This is the best recipe I have tried for cream of chicken soup. Easy to follow directions allowed my son to help!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashua, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Wilton, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2006
Thank you for posting a recipe so useful! I have been looking for a simple from scratch cream of chicken recipe for a long time! The canned soup is so full of salt, preservatives and who know what else!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
I agree that I would never eat cream of chicken soup plain anyway, but I use this as a base for turkey noodle casserole after holidays and we love it. It's perfect for my husband's high blood pressure because of the low sodium, and it's simple. I throw in some leftover veggies from the holiday dinner at the end and serve it over pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2004
I found this an excellent base recipe for chicken corn chowder. All I did was add a 12oz. can of niblets corn and doubled the garlic powder to make a chicken corn chowder my family raved about. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2009
We made this recipe just now and left out the sugar and replaced the salt with a full teaspoon of chicken bouillon and a quarter teaspoon of Thyme. This recipe... is amazing. We don't have much food around here but the staples and when we found this recipe we were shocked and tried it. I don't like soups at all and this cream of chicken soup... is amazing. Amazing! All the flavors needed to do was to come together and it became super delicious! Great work AmberJo :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
I really liked this recipe. I also added some onion powder, omitted the sugar, and added some chicken bullion. I also needed more flour to thicken it up. It was a great recipe to replace the canned cream of chicken soup. I am grateful for a homemade alternative.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KALAHAIBA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
I have made this several times and if you half the sugar it is amazing good enough to eat jsut like it is. For the sake of trying a healthier version, (and because I am in love with cooking and eating) I have adjusted this to be slightly what one may call lighter/healthier, although it may not be in the least:) 4 cups milk 2 TBSP Whole Wheat Flour 1 TBSP Corn Starch 1 TBSP white sugar 1/4 cup cooked chicken 1/2 teaspoon salt 1/2 teaspoon black pepper 1/2 teaspoon Garlic Powder 1/8 cup minced onion 2 TBSP olive oil 1 cup Chicken Broth Sautee onions in 1 TBSP O/O until tender, add cooked chicken & all seasonings, + 1 cup water, bring to simmer for 5 min, remove from heat and pour into food processor. Heat 1 TBSP O/O and add flour, create roux, assemble recipe as directed, then pour into food processor and process till smooth, mix cornstartch with equal amount of milk and add to mixture, return to stove and cook till thickened.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2011
I made this my own by adding a few things like garlic, onion and herbs, and swapping the flours for the healthier versions, as well as the oil for butter. Make this how you like- you can't go wrong! Thanks for the great recipe! I'm not going back to the canned stuff thanks to this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

Chicken in Cream Sauce

See how to make this savory Salvadorian stewed chicken dish.

Homemade Chicken Soup

See how to make homemade chicken soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States