Cream Of Chicken Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
This recipe was not a cream of chicken soup I would serve as a soup. I had to make a side dish of rice to serve with it. It was bland! I can't pin point what is missing, besides taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
well it is a good base for a cream of chicken soup but it needs more flavor. I added parsley, 1 clove garlic, 1 small onion and mixed them in the food processor then threw in 4 bullion cubs, and season all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Oakland, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
Good base for cooking
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Marysville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2010
I used this in a chicken pot pie recipe and my family thought the taste was good. I cut the milk in half, used butter in place of oil, and I added some poulty seasoning after taking a little taste, just before adding it into the chicken pot pie...thanks for the recipe..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VJUNE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Northville, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2010
I added a teaspoon of chicken bouillon, but it was quite good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie Rae King

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2010
The amounts of ingredients made me an eyebrow right off. 1/2 teaspoon of salt, in 4 cups of milk? Thats a lot of milk, with a decent amount of chicken, and very little combined seasoning. At first it tasted like milk and chicken. It is a good base, like a "stone soup", if you remember that children's story. I had to add boulion, butter, salt, celery seed, more black pepper, a bit of onion, a bit of rosemary, and a tad of cornstarch, to get it where my family would eat it. Maybe not as healthy, but definitely way more savory. The next day, I used the above leftovers as another "base", adding more onion, corn and carrots, etc., for a nice chowder. That was really tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2010
With a few tweaks, this turned out delicious. First, I did not add sugar. I also sauteed about 1/4 cup of onions in the oil before adding the flour. Along with others, I also added some chicken bouillon with salt to taste, thyme, and lemon juice. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
This is a good starter for cream of chicken. I added the following ingredents to make this much taster and better for my family. Use the this recipe (WITHOUT SUGAR and NO GARLIC POWDER), plus 2 cups more of cooked chicken 4 tablespoons of Cornstarch 1 Large can of Cream of Mushroom
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandadawn1112

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by michelle

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by gapch1026
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
I rated this 4 based on the fact that I added to the recipe. I chopped carrots and green onions very fine and sauteed them briefly before making the roux. I omitted the sugar - couldn't quite understand adding that much sugar to a soup like this - but used poultry seasoning for additional flavor. I like this and it's an excellent use for leftover cooked chicken. So rich and thick that a cup alongside a sandwich makes a filling meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gapch1026

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

Chicken Soup with Matzo Balls

For the Angel family, matzo ball soup means tradition.

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States