Cream Of Carrot Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2012
How Fantastic this is! The ginger and curry is an unexpected and delicious hit of flavour in what I imagined was going to be a basic soup. Even the kids liked it - and you know what high praise that is!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Candice
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
Carrots are my favorite vegetable and this soup is delicious. I've made it twice in two weeks. I usually always follow a "new-to-me" recipe exactly as written the first time, then tweak to my liking if necessary. But, this time, I thought I knew better and added freshly grated ginger because I also love ginger. It was very good, but the fresh ginger overpowered the carrot flavor. And, afterall, this IS carrot soup. The second time I made it, I used powdered ginger as the recipe called for. Still delicious, and the the carrot flavor was much more pronounced. I will make this again and again following the recipe to the letter, but I think I will roast some (bite sized) carrots in the oven to add at the last minute. My DH needs something to chew. A wonderfully satisfying comfort soup. I LOVE this stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albany, Oregon, USA
Photo by Avon- status quo PRO
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
Easy and delicious. I love this soup. I did use vegetable broth in place of chicken and also added some garlic. Used my immersion blender and dinner was on the table in less than an hour. Perfect for hectic nights. Served with a salad, and felt like I was doing my body many favors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Avon- status quo PRO

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
Great tasting simple soup I am not a fan of carrot soup but I had a delicious one at a restaurant and wanted to recreate the same thing at home. This recipe was exactly what I was looking for! I ajusted a few things: being lactose intolerante I ommited the cream and just put more broth; also added 2 gloves of garlic and used 1/2 sweet potato instead of regular potato. This recipe is a keeper, everyone one loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2014
I doubled the recipe other than the spices, (not a big fan of ginger and my 17 yr old hates curry.) I added garlic and 1/4 t. of nutmeg. Trying to save on calories, I used olive oil instead of butter and I also used nonfat milk rather than the cream. It was delicious; my boys had two big bowls each. I love the sweet carrots with the curry and hint of ginger. Will definitely make again with my changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by karen

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Albany, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2013
Delicious! I will make this again! I didn't have access to cream so I substituted 3/4 cup of milk with 1/3 cup of butter. Based on other reviews I also doubled the recipe. My husband can't handle too much spice so I halved the curry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2014
Wow, so much better than I expected. Very good soup !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2014
This was so good! The perfect carrot soup if you ask me. I must add that I modified slightly using Land o Lakes light butter and 2% milk since that's what I had. It was so perfect even with this reduction in fat; silky smooth, mildly sweet, with a hint of spice. The curry isn't a strong presence here, which was fine by me...........but if you really like to taste the curry you may want to add more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianna Nunley

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
Awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2013
superb! I added garlic, nom nom nom!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alicia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Cream of Asparagus Soup

See how to make creamy fresh asparagus soup.

Best Cream of Broccoli Soup

See how to make a simple, quick homemade broccoli soup recipe.

How to Make Cream of Cauliflower Soup

See how to make a creamy cauliflower soup garnished with bacon gremolata.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States