Cream Of Carrot Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2012
How Fantastic this is! The ginger and curry is an unexpected and delicious hit of flavour in what I imagined was going to be a basic soup. Even the kids liked it - and you know what high praise that is!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Candice
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
Carrots are my favorite vegetable and this soup is delicious. I've made it twice in two weeks. I usually always follow a "new-to-me" recipe exactly as written the first time, then tweak to my liking if necessary. But, this time, I thought I knew better and added freshly grated ginger because I also love ginger. It was very good, but the fresh ginger overpowered the carrot flavor. And, afterall, this IS carrot soup. The second time I made it, I used powdered ginger as the recipe called for. Still delicious, and the the carrot flavor was much more pronounced. I will make this again and again following the recipe to the letter, but I think I will roast some (bite sized) carrots in the oven to add at the last minute. My DH needs something to chew. A wonderfully satisfying comfort soup. I LOVE this stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albany, Oregon, USA
Photo by Avon- status quo PRO
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
Easy and delicious. I love this soup. I did use vegetable broth in place of chicken and also added some garlic. Used my immersion blender and dinner was on the table in less than an hour. Perfect for hectic nights. Served with a salad, and felt like I was doing my body many favors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Avon- status quo PRO

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2013
superb! I added garlic, nom nom nom!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alicia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2014
This was super easy to make and made for a nice dinner on Meatless Monday served with fresh rolls. But it wasn't a standout and I probably won't make it again. Taste is extremely subtle. In fact it took several mouthfuls to even detect a taste at all. I suppose experimenting with the spices might improve the flavor but with so many great soup recipes on this site, I'll probably just file this under not repeatable. Inexpensive and easy though so if you like mildly flavored, try this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cher

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ingersoll, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
I love this soup, and am actually making it right now! The recipe is easy, not time consuming, and very good. I add a 1/2 teaspoon of cumin to my recipe (it just seemed right), and the flavor is even more lovely. I will always be making this in the future ??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2013
It is a good recipe! I did make it with plant based substitutions such as almond milk for the whipping cream and vegetable broth for the chicken broth. I omitted the butter. Other than that I made it according to how it was written. The only thing I will change in the future is use half of the ginger. It was a little much for my taste. It freezes well. I make soups and freeze them in individual servings to pull for my work lunches or to have something quick to eat on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2013
Delicious! I will make this again! I didn't have access to cream so I substituted 3/4 cup of milk with 1/3 cup of butter. Based on other reviews I also doubled the recipe. My husband can't handle too much spice so I halved the curry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
Loved this recipe. Quick and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SNOWBUNNII

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oakville, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: May 2, 2013
Fantastic soup! Quick, easy...made it exactly as stated the first time, second time added random leftover veggies too and still awesome! The curry is such a refreshing note. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Cream of Asparagus Soup

See how to make creamy fresh asparagus soup.

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

Best Cream of Broccoli Soup

See how to make a simple, quick homemade broccoli soup recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States