Cream Filled Cupcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2008
Here is the EASIEST tip for filling the cupcakes. Take an APPLE CORER and use that to pull a cylindrical plug of cake out of each cupcake (once they've cooled). Save the plugs on the side while you pipe filling into each hole you've created. "Plug" up each hole using the plugs/caps you had removed with the apple corer. Simple and fast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
978 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2003
I thought this was a great idea, but not the greatest recipe. The chocolate cupcakes weren't the tastiest -- I'd use a different recipe for that part next time. The cream filling was great, so I wound up using a double batch of filling for one batch of cupcakes. I didn't like the idea of pushing it in from the bottom (sounded way too messy for me). So I used a knife and cut a cone shape out of the top, spooned the filling in, and replaced the top. (Just be sure to wait until the cupcakes have cooled, or the cream filling just melts!) Then I frosted them using the great chocolate frosting recipe mentioned in another review, and you can't tell they're anything but chocolate cupcakes until you bite into them. My boyfriend says these are now his FAVORITE dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
401 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2006
Great dessert for our Father's Day barbeque! The cupcake portion of the recipe is so easy to make and tastes so much better than boxed mixes. It doesn't take any longer to make than the boxed mixes either, so try it. As for the reviewers that thought it was too much work to put the filling inside, it's actually very little work and quite a bit of fun. All you need is a pastry bag and tip. Each cupcake takes about 10 seconds to fill. I made my cupcakes in the pan without wrappers, filled them after they were cool, then arranged a dozen or so to a platter and drizzled them with chocolate ganache. They looked surprisingly elegant for cupcakes. Everyone loved them and ate seconds and thirds. I can't wait to try the same cupcake recipe with different fillings. UPDATE: I have made these cupcakes dozens of times since my first review because they are always requested. I like to ice them with Satiny Chocolate Glaze. I have also filled them with chocolate cream cheese frosting, nutella, and whipped peanut butter frosting. I like to fill them from the top and then spoon the glaze on. After the glaze is set, I pipe a small flower in the center of each cupcake with whatever filling I used.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
348 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SEY1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2002
This is a super recipe! I usually always mess up new recipes, but this turned out perfect, it was easy, and everyone at work loved it. I used an incredible chocolate frosting receipe I found on this same site: 1/4 cup margarine, melted; 1/2 cup unsweetened cocoa powder; 1/3 cup milk; 1 teaspoon vanilla extract; 3 1/2 cups confectioners' sugar. In a large bowl, beat margarine and cocoa together until combined. Add milk and vanilla; beat until smooth. Gradually beat in confectioners' sugar until desired consistency is achieved. Adjust with more milk or confectioners' sugar if necessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
215 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2005
Five stars for a great filling! I needed a cocoa filling to fill cupcakes for my son's birthday so I just changed 2 ingredients in this cream filling recipe and it turned out great! I used all butter (didn't have shortening) and I replaced 1/4 cup of the confectioner's sugar with unsweetened cocoa powder. I also filled my cupcakes from the top since I was going to frost them. By the way, I used a triple chocolate fudge cake mix for the cupcake and a vanilla buttercream for the frosting (my son's favorite). The cream filling recipe with the changes I made generously filled 24 cupcakes. Everyone loved the finished cupcakes - kids and adults!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
137 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Reno, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by F.D.
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2006
These are so delicious and they turned out wonderful! I left out the shortening in the filling and they still tasted magnificent! I think these are the best cupcakes I have ever made and I will definately make them again. It took some time for me to fill all of the cupcakes, but it was worth it because they taste great. They remind me of Hostess cupcakes, only better. They are probably good with chocolate chips in the batter as well...maybe I'll try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
134 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by F.D.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2007
This recipe was OK. Here's what I did to simplify it- cupcake dough=Pilsbury cake mix(choc.) filling=Betty C. whip-cream frosting Frosting= Betty C. choc. frosting THIS MAKES IT SOOOOOOO EASY!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
94 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by NEgirl
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
Loved this recipe. Had been looking for a filled cupcake recipe for a long time and now I have a winner! The cupcake turned out perfect. Used the frosting suggested by OCEAN011 and decorated with leftover filling. UPDATE: Have made these several times since I first reviewed them and experimented with different fillings, just made the filling by adding a Tbsp or 2 of cheesecake pudding mix (dry) to the original recipe and whipping it...OMG...that is good...really thinned it out so had to add more powdered sugar. Also I have been just piping the filling into the top of the cupcake with a piping bag and small tip...that way you can leave the liner on and the hole at the top is covered with frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful
Photo by Baricat
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
Just to be clear, I'm not reviewing the cake part of the recipe, just the filling and the idea of a technique for applying it inside. The cake you use doesn't matter. The filling and technique will work with any cupcake recipe. The filling is light and sweet. Instead of milk, I used coffee creamer and the texture and flavor were just perfect. As for putting the filling into the cupcakes, I went from the top instead of breaking the bottom paper, (which makes for an unholy mess on your serving plate.) I was going to frost them anyway, so it didn't matter that a dot of white filling showed through the top. I used a pastry bag with a #22 tube. Buried the tube all the way to the coupler into the cupcake. I squeezed until the cake started to expand, then eased off the pressure as I withdrew it. Worked very well, and it's infinitely easier and faster than cutting the core, removing it, filling and replacing the core. No need for any such gyrations. If you have cake decorating equipment, I recommend this time-saving technique.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baricat

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2003
Oh. Wow. These are absolutely great. The kids love 'em. Their classmates love 'em. The husband loves 'em. The dentist even loves 'em. Easy to make, foolproof, a hit. I usually only want the filling in this type of dessert but the cake is chocolatey and delicious. We enjoyed every crumb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 358) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream Filled Cupcakes

Watch how to make easy, moist cream filled cupcakes from scratch.

Ice Cream Cone Cupcakes

See how to make super-fun ice cream cone cupcakes!

Chef John's Red Velvet Cupcakes

See how to make a classic chocolate cake in delicious cupcake form.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States