Cream Filled Cupcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Photo by Michele_One_L
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
I'm only rating the cream filling recipe as I used a boxed cake mix for the cupcakes. The filling was super easy to make and use. Alone it's quite sweet but once I filled the cupcakes and let them sit, it blended so nicely. For the chocolate topping I used the satiny chocolate glaze recipe from this site. What a great pairing! I've shared these cupcakes with 2 people already and both have said that these are far better than the original hostess chocolate cupcakes. Sounds like a keeper then!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michele_One_L

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Schenectady, New York, USA
Living In: Palm Bay, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
The filling tasted like really bad frosting. Not doing this ever again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
I am actually only reviewing the cream filling. I made a boxed Devils Food cake, put the cream filling in through the top & frosted with Satiny Choc. Glaze from this site. Sooooo good. Taste just like Hostess cupcakes & easy to frost with the glaze. Just dip the tops!! Only change will be to use a larger tip when filling with cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kirkwood, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
These just didn't work out for me. Maybe I was tired, maybe it was late, but I just didn't click with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelsey Folger

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
So yummy! My family loved these!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Luv2bake

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Glendale, California, USA
Photo by Judy Cowan
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
Use the Satiny Chocolate glaze (on this website) on top....it's perfect for these!! Like chocolate genache (sp?) but way easier!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy Cowan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Cloud, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
Great recipe! ..and easy. I hate when people make all kinds of changes, but I HAD to make one. Any time I make filled cup cakes, I always fill right from the top and then frost over the hole. It's definitely more appealing visually, and that way there is no risk of filling coming out the bottom/sides of your cups. Thank you for this delicious recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
I only used the filling and just used a boxed devils food mix. Filling was delicious. I doubled the recipe for 24 cupcakes and had a lot leftover. Probably one batch would have been enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
Kids loved these, but I felt that they needed a little more chocolate flavor, so I would up the cocoa next time. I filled these from the top (I couldn't get the tip through the paper liner) and then covered with satiny chocolate glaze. Then I finished them by piping more of the filling on the top. These went over great at the party that my kids took them to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kyoung
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
The cake part of this recipe is okay, but did not come out as dark as I would hope. Perhaps I would use a box or a different recipe next time. It looked more like a gingerbread color. Flavor was ok. The filling was great. I used an apple corer and plugged up the holes when I was done. You should test how much to fill with one cake, because I under filled on some. I used a hard glaze recipe I found on this site, and used the filling to make the swirls on top. I would do this again, but with different cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kyoung

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 358) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Cream Filled Cupcakes

Watch how to make easy, moist cream filled cupcakes from scratch.

Ice Cream Cone Cupcakes

See how to make super-fun ice cream cone cupcakes!

Chef John's Red Velvet Cupcakes

See how to make a classic chocolate cake in delicious cupcake form.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States