Cream Cheese and Prosciutto Stuffed Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 31, 2009
This recipe was really good, as written, but it needs a bit of tweeking on the cooking time. It took MUCH longer than stated for the chicken to cook with everything inside, and mine never got to the stated temp (but the chicken was cooked through...just the stuffing wasn't at that temp- which may be a food hazard! I think a way to remedy that would be to follow the first steps up to after you make the sauce. Then, I'd pour the sauce over the chicken, cover it, and cook it in the oven for 20-30 mins at 375. That would also ensure that the raw onions and garlic in the cream cheese were cooked. On taste, this recipe is five stars- just not quite the right way to make it! I'll definitely make it again! I served it over rice, and as another reviewer said, there's a TON of sauce, but it helps with the cooking and keeping the meat moist, I'm sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bethsanchez23

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2009
It was a five star for us. The recipe says cook time at the top of the recipe. 30 minutes. That is pretty much true. I did as it directed when I was simmering it in the sauce. I simmered it for about 20 to 25 minutes. I don't understand why it says 5 minutes when you return it to the sauce. It should be about 20 to 25 minutes. I served it with a great tossed salad, while our Fettuccini was cooking I served it with the Fettuccini and Asparagus. We both loved it. I will make it many times again. I got the Prosciutto at Wal-Mart for 3.00. Very tender, not overcooked. It leaves a wonderful aftertaste. You can roll them and refrigerate them (I tied them with string) and just do the cook them while you are making your salad and Vegetable. I am eager to have them for dinner tomorrow. Just the two of us so I have good leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Jackson, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gardengrl
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
Very tasty! My local market was out of prosciutto, so I improvised and use bacon. I was concerned that the chicken might be lacking in flavor by doing so, but it was great even with the substitution. To cut calories; I used cornstarch for my thickening agent, which allowed me to omit the butter. The gravy was quite flavorful this way. I boiled angel hair pasta and added it to the sauce once it was done. I topped the pasta with the chicken and served with a side of asparagus. I think a sundried tomato pesto would be excellent added to the cream cheese mixture. Also would like to try topping it with mozzarella cheese and baking it as opposed to finishing it on the stove. A great recipe the way it is, but I believe will lend itself to a host of variations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gardengrl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Merced, California, USA
Living In: Berwick, Maine, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2009
Very tasty!! I made this for company, and they had to cancel at the last minute. Needless to say, I was not sad to have leftovers of this entree. It is even better the second time around! The cream cheese, flavored with garlic and onion, gives this dish such a distinctive flavor. I was surprised by how much gravy this recipe made. I will have to find another use for it, because no one could eat all the gravy in one sitting. If you are looking for a new twist on an old favorite, TRY THIS RECIPE! You'll be glad you did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Kettering, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2009
Some people care about their diet, but for me it comes down to how good something tastes, so when I saw that this recipe called for low fat cream cheese, I substituted with regular instead. After trying the dish, I realized that having the heavier cream cheese did not seem to add any punch to the dish. Because of the way that the sauce cooks, the cream cheese is really an after thought compared to the wine and basil flavoring. While the recipe is a little bit more work, the dish has rich flavors and creates an impressive impression on guests. When cooking this recipe, I'd recommended boiling the chicken for closer to 7 - 10 minutes vs. 5 minutes and to make sure that the chicken is covered during the simmer/boiling stage of the cooking. Because the stuffed chicken breasts tend to be pretty thick, there is a tendency to undercook the inside meat, if you're not careful about how long it stays in the skillet. I'd also recommend using a big pan for your skillet instead of a traditional frying pan because four of these monster sized pieces of chicken will have trouble fitting in a traditional frying pan all at once. Overall, I give this one a four out of five, but make sure that your guests enjoy basil or else this dish will end up as leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Davis Freeberg

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
It didn't come out like I expected. I think it's because I thought the cream cheese overpowered the rest of th meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
This was delicious!!! Didn't put in the wine because my boyfriend is allergic to it but it was still fantastic. The cooking time definitely needs to be adjusted it doesn't take 5 minutes after making the sauce to cook, more like 20. The prosciutto really makes this dish. I loved it and the boyfriend loved it even more. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Cheri

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
I think this is my favorite chicken. The sauce is heavenly and tastes like I got it in a restaurant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susie Ginther Brauns
Living In: Highland, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2009
WONDERFUL! The only thing I did different was used dried Italian seasoning as I didn't have any fresh basil. My husband loved it, thought it tasted like something he could have gotten in a restaurant in Europe when he was stationed there. A definite keeper just as it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2011
This was very tasty and not too difficult to make on a weeknight. I took the advice of other reviewers and cooked the chicken in the oven for 20 minutes instead of the recommended 5 minutes on the stove, and it turned out well. The chicken was still moist and I think baking it (covered) for the extra time allowed the flavors of the sauce to develop even more. Next time, I will probably add more (and probably dryer) wine as well as a bit more salt (recipe didn't call for any, but I added some and still felt it lacking) but overall, this is a great dish that I will definitely add to my recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WorkingWarden

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wooster, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Asparagus and Mozzarella Stuffed Chicken Breasts

A simple recipe that yeilds fancy results.

Garlic-Lemon Double Stuffed Chicken

See how to make cheese-stuffed chicken breasts drenched with a lemon-butter sauce

Spinach Stuffed Chicken Breasts

Bacon-wrapped chicken breasts are stuffed with spinach and feta cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States