Cream Cheese and Parmesan Bread Spread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2012
I used reduced fat cream cheese, my own homemade italian seasoning and because I'm on a budget, Kraft parmesan cheese. I spread this on french bread and broiled it for about five minutes. HUGE hit with the boys. They absolutely loved this. I was told that this is the only garlic bread to make from now on. EDITED: Now that I've made this twice, this reminds me a little of Laughing Cow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
Fabulous! This stuff is absolutely delicious! I cut the recipe in half to give this a try and boy am I glad I did. This is basically like a garlic bread spread, but the addition of the cream cheese makes this rich and creamy. This is so simple to throw together and has so few ingredients - what's not to love? I blended everything together and you can easily "tweak" this to suit your tastes. I let it set in the fridge for a few hours to let the blend. Perfect over warm bread, but also great on crackers and I might even try this on carrot or celery sticks...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: May 16, 2012
Well this recipe convinced me that I may not be a fan of cream cheese on my garlic bread. I had a French baguette in the freezer that I split lengthwise. I spread this on the cut sides and popped it under the broiler. I think the cream cheese prevented this from browning the way I would have liked, but the edges were starting to burn so I had to pull it out. This was good, but just didn’t appeal to us as much as some others. I did try the little I had leftover on pita chips and that was good, but again, not a favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
Wow, this stuff is delcious! I ordered breadsticks once from an Italian place that sold it with a white spread that came in a little container. This tastes so much like that! Any type of homemade bread stick would taste good with this. I changed it to 2 servings with the calculate button and it made about 1/4 cup, so the full recipe is accurate on the 3/4 cup or 6 servings. To cut the sat. fat back some I used whipped cream cheese and butter with canola oil. I accidentally forgot to add the parmesan cheese. It must have been a good mistake, because it didn't seem to need it. It would have lost the creamy consistency I think anyhow. I also used pre-minced garlic and it worked fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Photo by MrsFisher0729
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
Easy to make! Love the alternative to just butter and herbs for rolls!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
Good but a bit salty. I toned it down with extra cream cheese. My husband approved. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2012
FANTASTIC! I slathered this on some sliced Italian bread and threw it under the broiler for garlic bread to go w/ out pasta tonight and it was wonderful! I also dipped a few pretzels in it and that was super yummy too. I see this being a staple in our house...it's soooo versatile. I can't wait to try it on homemade rolls~YUM! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
Can't get any easier than this. And yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Orangeville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2012
This is incredible stuff. Went really well with our pasta dinner, next time I think I'll spread this on the bread and then pop them in the broiler for a few minutes, as other reviewers have done. This is a keeper for sure. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: College Park, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
Excellent. Used this to spread on top of Herb Quick Bread by Taste of Home. However, I used a tsp of bottled minced garlic instead of fresh garlic and basil instead of Italian seasoning. Next time I'm going to just add garlic powder or salt because I didn't like the chunks of garlic in the spread. I think that will bump this recipe up to 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream Cheese Arepas

See how to make beautiful cream cheese breakfast arepas.

Parmesan Cheese Twists

These cheesy Pepperidge Farm® Puff Pastry strips are so easy to make!

Salami, Cream Cheese, and Pepperoncini Roll-Ups

See how to make a super-easy, meat-and-cheesy party appetizer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States