Cream Cheese and Ham Spread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2006
I have been making this for years as my mother made it before me. I add garlic powder and I make sure to refrigerate overnight to allow the flavors to meld. I just have served with regular butter crackers and it has always been a hit. Thank you for posting it here for other cooks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingsport, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2007
This is a greawt base spread. I've been making it for years and oftentimes add capers, a bit of horseradish, garlic powder or pimiento for variations. For an appetizer version I add a couple tablespoons of reduced fat mayo into the mix, then bake in mini phyllo shells for 12mins at 375 degrees. They are yummy and look really nice on an appetizer buffet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2002
I have brought this to 2 parties (it is so simple to make, even I can make it!) and have had 4 requests for the recipe! It is delicious. I spread it melba toast and on the miniature horsdevours bread loaves found in the deli. Don't spread it on too early or the toast will get soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2012
I used a package of light "whipped" cream cheese for this recipe and I added a teaspoon of garlic powder. The kids and I ate this with homemade pita chips and rippled carrot "chips"--we really liked it. I would make this again but add more spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2007
We love this, so easy to make and once it sits overnight or even just a few hours, the flavors come together well. I make it into a 'cheese ball' by chopping up pecans and shape the cheese into a ball then roll in nuts until covered. Great for parties and game day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Irvine, California, USA
Living In: Menifee, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2003
My Ash-b-gash is not a deli meat kid, but could eat a bagel with cream cheese for every day for lunch. Even though the recipe called for ham, I figured I'd give it a shot. Fortunately, she loved it and so did Ty. Thanks Friend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
We've used these ingredients to make ham rolls. We spread the cream cheese on a rectangle slice of luncheon ham then lay a green onion on one short end. We then roll the ham, and cut into small bitesized pieces. It makes a great appetizer. We also sometimes spread the cheese on a soft tortilla/burrito, then place the ham and onion on top and roll. They work best if refridgerated in a ziploc baggie before cutting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hurst gals
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2005
This is wonderful served on bagel chips or with pumpernickel sticks for dipping. I add just a dash of garlic powder for added zip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2002
So simple yet so good!!! I've taken it to 3 parties and it always gets great reviews!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2001
Everyone who tries this spread raves over it. It is so simple and easy and very tasty. It's now a family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Salami, Cream Cheese, and Pepperoncini Roll-Ups

See how to make a super-easy, meat-and-cheesy party appetizer.

Baked Ham and Cheese Party Sandwiches

Try these game-day ready ham and cheese sliders.

Easy Ham and Cheese Appetizer Sandwiches

Ham and melted Swiss combine with a tangy spread on soft party rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States