Cream Cheese Tart Shells Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2006
I used this recipe for a pumpkin pie crust and could not believe how easy and good it was....this is only my 2nd time making a pie crust...it has always intimidated me but have wanted to find a recipe with out hydroginated oils in it(shortening....so bad for you).I know butter and cream cheese are not really good for us but much better than taking in that hydrogenated stuff...This crust was unbelievably easy and flakey better than any other crust I have had. I did prebake the crust about 15-20 just till golden then added the filling and cooked another 45min and the crust did not burn like other pie crusts have for me in the past...I really can not say enough good things about this recipe....Thankyou!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
109 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2006
This is the only recipe I'll use now for tart shells. I've even used it for a full pie, and it turned out excellent. I cannot say enough good things about this recipe. It is incredibly simple and really delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2005
I used this recipe for a pie crust. It delicious! I can't even begin to tell you how easy it was to make! Easy to roll out to, which I always loathed with other crust recipes! This recipe is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Salem, Illinois, USA
Living In: Seymour, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2005
Melt-in-your-mouth delicious. I couldn't believe how quick and easy these were to do. I wanted to make mini quiches so took a couple of other reviewers' advice and used this recipe with Shelly's Basic Quiche mixture - a wonderful combination, thoroughly recomended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lupin Pooter
Home Town: Sherborne, Dorset, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2005
These shells were amazing! Because the recipe looked so simple (with only three ingredients!), I didn't expect great results. Boy, was I surprised! They taste exactly like the egg tart shells from my favorite Chinese bakery. I used to custard from the Hong Kong Egg Tarts recipe to fill these shells. They came out flaky and delicious! My friends devoured these and still wanted more! I only had fat free cream cheese on hand, but it still turned out great. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2005
Wonderful! I baked the tart shells for about 15 minutes..your oven will vary..and cooled. Once they were cooled, I filled each one with homeade chicken salad and served at a Bridal Luncheon. The bride now wants these added to her wedding reception. Thanks Glenda for such an easy and versatile recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by phnz2lft

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2005
Okay, these really are amazing! This recipe seems almost too simple to work, but it does and the pastry comes out flaky and crispy (if a bit greasy). I used both mini-muffin tins and regular size and both were great. I found it took about 15-25 minutes to bake the unfilled shells.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Garberville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2005
This was amazing, I will definately make it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by FIREDANCER201
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2005
I made these in regular muffin pans since I don't have a mini-muffin pan. They turned out delicious! I filled them with blueberry pie filling with cut up strawberries. MMMM! So easy that my 5 and 2 year old sons helped me! The only question I have is: How long are you supposed to bake them??? I baked mine for almost 45 mins and I don't think they were completely done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mangum, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Bloomfield, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2005
Excellent! I used these to make miniature pumpkin pies. Very good flavor, but the flavor doesn't stand out so much that it interupts the flavor of the filling. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cream Cheese Mints

See how to make sweet peppermint treats that positively melt in your mouth.

Cream Cheese Squares

Flaky crescent dough layered with sweet cream cheese filling.

Cream Cheese Penguins

These adorable cream cheese penguins go beyond cute.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States