Cream Cheese Tart Shells Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2010
My first time making this, I accidentally grabbed neufchatel out of the fridge instead of the cream cheese--but it baked much the same with a similar flavor, and is apparently 1/3 less fat...so it might be a marginally healthier option. Either way--lovely, especially with raspberry jam.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by suburbancinderella

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Avon, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Farmington, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2010
My friend and I used this to bake lemon tarts. These were disappointing straight from the oven--too greasy of a texture--and my friend hated the addition of cream cheese. However, after keeping them in the refrigerator, the tarts improved considerably. I will look at other tart recipes and may modify this one for future use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
Tried these for tart shells -too puffy and soft. Maybe they would be good for something else, but as for crust, I prefer my oil recipe using milk, oil, and sugar with flour or even sugar cookie dough - especially for strawberry tarts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2010
Tried this recipe last night, made a full size quiche, this recipe tastes exactly like a certain national brand of frozen quiche (Nancy's) which is delicious! Will use this recipe from now on!! Absolutely terrific!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jello Girl
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
These are so easy and yummy! I added 2 tbsp. of sugar because I wanted shell a little sweeter. I also baked 13-15 minutes, just until very lightly browned on edges. Then I removed from oven and let finish cooking and cooling in pan. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jello Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Provo, Utah, USA
Living In: Orem, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
This is a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookie momma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
My new favorite crust recipe. Couldn't be easier or more yummy. I made it non-dairy for kosher reasons, by using margarine and Tofutti cream cheese (both trans-fat free, by the way) and it was fabulous. I even replaced a bit (approx. 1/3 c.) of the flour with whole wheat flour to make it a tiny bit healthier (more whole grain), and it was still great. I can't recommend it more highly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
Yum!! Of course even such a simple recipe I screwed up, but it still turned out yummy! I usually cannot make pie dough but this turned out great and is so much simpler than traditional recipes. I wanted to make a larger batch and ended up screwing up my ratios. I ended up putting in 16 oz cream cheese, 1 1/4 cup butter, and 3 1/2 cups flour. Even messing up the ratios the dough turned out perfect! I realized I had put too much cream cheese so just added more flour and left the butter alone. Maybe it was better putting in less butter because I still got the yummy butter flavor and flaky dough without the greasiness that some reviewers mentioned. The recipe yielded 2 dozen regular cupcake size tarts and one 9" pie crust that I used to make a quiche.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2009
These are fab-u-lous!!!!! I have never made mini quiche before but after reading someone's review on here about this tart I decided to give it a try...my mini quiches turned out perfectly! :) They looked like a professional chef had made them and they tasted wonderful! I was worried about getting them out of the mini muffin pans after cooking but it was a snap! Soooooooo simple and DE-LISH! I WILL USE THIS RECIPE FOR THE TART SHELLS FROM NOW ON! I made both a Spinach& Mushroom mini quiche as well as Quiche Lorraine minis with these and both were amazingly professional looking! Thank you for sharing this recipe! Bon apetit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2009
Nice, forgiving pie dough. I found the full fat cream cheese created too greasy a tart so I used a lower fat cream cheese.(But never non-fat creese cheese which is awful,I think)They make wonderful mini quiches. Don't worry if the egg mixture overflows or your little tarts are not perfect, they come out looking charming!One suggestion, the non-stick mini tart pans are a dream to use. Invest in one of those. The egg mixture is 1 egg to every half cup of milk (or half and half). A generous grating of nutmeg, paired with swiss cheese,crumbled bacon and snipped chives,white pepper and salt to taste earned me rave reviews at the brunch. Oh, almost forgot! Bake the tart shells off for 5 mins at 400, add your filling and then turn down to 350 for 15 mins or so. No soggy bottoms!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Berea, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Cream Cheese Penguins

These adorable cream cheese penguins go beyond cute.

Cream Cheese Frosting II

See how to make the best cream-cheese frosting for cakes, cookies, and breads.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States