Cream Cheese Tart Shells Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2007
I followed the recipe and added the fruit prior to baking and found that the crust stayed soggy. So I baked the shells without the filling for the 20 minutes, added the filling and baked an additional 3 minutes. The crust was crispier and did not have the under-cooked dough flavor as before. I would make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
146 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Chester, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2006
I used this recipe for a pumpkin pie crust and could not believe how easy and good it was....this is only my 2nd time making a pie crust...it has always intimidated me but have wanted to find a recipe with out hydroginated oils in it(shortening....so bad for you).I know butter and cream cheese are not really good for us but much better than taking in that hydrogenated stuff...This crust was unbelievably easy and flakey better than any other crust I have had. I did prebake the crust about 15-20 just till golden then added the filling and cooked another 45min and the crust did not burn like other pie crusts have for me in the past...I really can not say enough good things about this recipe....Thankyou!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
106 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2007
Quick, easy tender and flakey! I doubled the recipe, sort of (8 oz cream cheese, 3/4 c marg and 2 1/2 cups flour) and it made enough to use filling for 1 blueberry pie. Also, I rolled and cut using a 2 1/4" cutter as I found those results more satisfactory (more filling, less dough and more "even" finished product!) I will use again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
101 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2005
Wonderful! I baked the tart shells for about 15 minutes..your oven will vary..and cooled. Once they were cooled, I filled each one with homeade chicken salad and served at a Bridal Luncheon. The bride now wants these added to her wedding reception. Thanks Glenda for such an easy and versatile recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by phnz2lft

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 1, 2006
Oh my these were unbelievable. I needed to make mini quiches and I didn't want to risk using my own regular quiche crust recipe and have it not work out in the mini form so I found this - it worked out really well and was much more delicious. It tastes how I would imagine catered mini quiche crusts would taste. I used a regular muffin tin and it made a dozen for me. Sure it isn't very healthy but hey if you don't eat all of them then you're good to go!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2004
I made these shells in a mini-muffin tin with the Mini Caramel Cookie Tarts filling (also found in AllRecipes.com) and they were DEVOURED! The shells are incredibly flaky, tasty and how much easier could they be?? I'd give it 10 stars if I could.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SANDRA DEE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2005
Okay, these really are amazing! This recipe seems almost too simple to work, but it does and the pastry comes out flaky and crispy (if a bit greasy). I used both mini-muffin tins and regular size and both were great. I found it took about 15-25 minutes to bake the unfilled shells.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Garberville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2006
This is the only recipe I'll use now for tart shells. I've even used it for a full pie, and it turned out excellent. I cannot say enough good things about this recipe. It is incredibly simple and really delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2006
O M G talk about good, and so easy if you can't put 3 ingredients together give it up. I doubled the recipe and I used the whole pkg of cream cheese I thought if 6 oz will be good than 8 will be even better. I made them into pumpkin tarts, next time I think I will add some sugar and spice to the shells and see how that taste.Yummmmmmmmmmmy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CARTHECOOK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Living In: Mill Cove, New Brunswick, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by FIREDANCER201
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2005
I made these in regular muffin pans since I don't have a mini-muffin pan. They turned out delicious! I filled them with blueberry pie filling with cut up strawberries. MMMM! So easy that my 5 and 2 year old sons helped me! The only question I have is: How long are you supposed to bake them??? I baked mine for almost 45 mins and I don't think they were completely done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mangum, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Bloomfield, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 117) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream Cheese Mints

See how to make sweet peppermint treats that positively melt in your mouth.

Cream Cheese Squares

Flaky crescent dough layered with sweet cream cheese filling.

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States