Cream Cheese Tart Shells Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2012
I wish I could give these tart shells ten stars. They are perfectly flakey, incredibly tasty and so very easy. I have used this recipe for making almost every kind of pie: pecan tassies, apple pies, quiche, meat pies, pumpkin pies, cherry pies, etc. I have made small tarts and regular sized pies using his recipe. Just double or triple as needed. And cook the crust as your filling recipe demands. So use your filling recipe, but don't bother with a traditional butter crust. This cream cheese crust is so much better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
It is an OK recipe but will not use again! Not what i was expecting. It is not crumbly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
To divide dough equally into 24 pieces I like to divide the dough in half then divide each half into quarters. Then divide each quarter into 3 equal parts and you will have 24 pieces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2011
I had high hopes, wanted to use as a tart crust for quiche and some cookies. But when I baked them, they completely collapsed into the cups, leaving a mound of crust, rather than a shell. Not sure why I had a bad experience. If anyone has an idea...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Berlin, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
This dough was great! I made mushroom tarts and pear-blue cheese tarts with it, and that worked so well I used it for my Thanksgiving pumpkin pie too. Easier than the butter-flour-ice water version and turns out more reliably light and flaky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
Excellent recipe and very easy. I used in mini tart pans for Mini Crawfish Quiche. Was a big hit at brunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
very happy to find a simple pie crust recipe used this for a pumpkin pie today and going by what one reviewer said i prebaked the shell for 20 mins before i added the filling unfortunately 20 mins was a bit too long and i burned the outer crust but upon eating the pie i was glad i prebaked it because it deff would have been soggy/raw so next time i will pre bake it for 10-15
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2011
Really good but time consuming.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ML

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2011
I took the advice of others and baked the shells before filling them. They came out perfectly. I would definitely use this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2011
So easy. I wouldn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JulianaB

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 117) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream Cheese Mints

See how to make sweet peppermint treats that positively melt in your mouth.

Cream Cheese Squares

Flaky crescent dough layered with sweet cream cheese filling.

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States