Cream Cheese Tart Shells Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2015
Tastes wonderful! Followed some reviews and cut down on the butter. Might try out next time with Low-Fat cream cheese to make it less greasy as well. The only problem I had with it was that I took a long time to shape the dough to just the right tart height I wanted, but lots of dough sank to the base and reduced the height by half. Ended up with not enough space to fill the tarts because of the thick base and lower height. Wondering if anyone had the same problem?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lindsaykat
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2015
These turned out great and even looked beautiful! I added a little confectioners sugar to the mix for a little sweetness since I was making fruit tarts. I love another reviewer's idea of putting chicken salad in them and will be trying that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2015
My mom made it for years. The only problem is you double the recipe and bake at 425 for 10-12 minutes, not 325. You also prick bottom and sides of every tart shell!! Then I fill with lemon or lime curd after cooled completely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bonnie O'Neil

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
The dough was sooooo sticky... too sticky, it was like molding cream cheese into a muffin cup. So after I squished the dough into the tins, I pricked them anyway just to be sure. Baked them for 15 minutes and POOF! I had little indented muffins. One, they shrunk WAY below the edge of the tins, they ended up with crispy, over browned edges and they were soft in the center. Sooo, the second batch, I reduced the temp 25 degrees built the dough up above the edges and essentially ended up with the same results. With that being said, they did have good flavor and they were relatively flaky. So I'm giving two stars because of flavor and texture but they don't make adequate tart shells. I suppose I could put a dollop of something on them (not in them).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2015
Super easy and tasty! I love anything with only three ingredients! This is a very handy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2014
We couldn't find the ready-made tart shells in local grocery stores that you can take home and fill with whatever filling you like, for a very fancy little dessert... so I found this little recipe and thought I would give them a shot. THEY WERE PERFECT. I am going to make these ALOT in the future, as they can be filled with either sweet or savory fillings. Heck, I may even try using the recipe (doubled) to make a full-size fruit, pumpkin, or chocolate pie -- just as other reviewers have done with this recipe! It's that versatile and THAT EASY.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Danville, California, USA
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
This is the best tart ever, Nothing to them. I fill mine with Pumpkin and then add Cream Cheese in dthe middle and bake. Great tasting mini pumpkin cheesecake tarts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patti Radtke Pirko

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
I halved this recipe to use in two ramekins. Super easy to make and a good result. I baked them without the filling for about 25 minutes, then added the filling and baked another ten minutes. The bottoms were still a bit squidgy so I probably should have baked them 30 minutes before adding the filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KateShaw

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
Awesome recipe! After reading the reviews and noticing a lot of comments about the shells coming out greasy, I added an extra 1/4 cup of flour. Also, I used gluten-free flour and my husband and I couldn't tell the difference. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meg Mae

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2013
Amazing! These are so buttery and flakey and super easy to make. Definitely going to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 124) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fig Goat Cheese Tart

A delicious, free-form tart with a bit of sweet and savory!

Cream Cheese Mints

See how to make sweet peppermint treats that positively melt in your mouth.

Cream Cheese Squares

Flaky crescent dough layered with sweet cream cheese filling.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States