Cream Cheese Sugar Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
I used the variation posted by some reviewers of 1 1/2 cup sugar, 1 cup of unsalted butter, 1 8oz cream cheese, 1 egg, 1 tsp vanilla, 1/2 tsp almond extract, 3 1/2 cup flour and 1 tsp baking powder. I wouldn't reccommend this variation. The cookies had a very bland flavor. The almond extract also gave a wierd taste. After making a batch of these and another recipe, I realized the all butter (instead of butter/creamcheese) recipe has a much better flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
Cherish and other reviewers suggested the following changes and these cookies came out perfect! 1 1/2 cup sugar, 1 cup of unsalted butter, 1 8oz cream cheese, 1 egg, 1 tsp vanilla, 1/2 tsp almond extract, 3 1/2 cup flour and 1 tsp baking powder I might have only used 1cup sugar though, can't exactly remember. But- these cookies were absolutely delicious! They were soft, not too sweet, perfect flavourful (I could eat them without frosting, though its even better with it). This is one of the best and easiest recipes I've tried on allrecipes. This will be my go to sugar cookie recipe from now on. Frosting: *I hate sickly sweet frosting, and began to follow the Sugar Cookie Frosting recipe on this website as reviewers said it wasn't too sweet. I hated it-- it was waay to sweet, so I modified it. Here is my frosting recipe: 1cup unsalted butter, 3-4 cups icing (confectioners) sugar (start with 2-3cups and add more until you get your desired sweetness) 8-10TBSP milk 1pkg (8oz) cream cheese 2/3 tsp almond extract 1 1/2tsp Vanilla extract Food colouring Beat all ingredients together. Its perfectly flavoured and not overly sweet. If you let the frosting dry overnight on the cookies, it will be stackable, but the frosting does not completely harden.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
These were the perfect rolled sugar cookies! I used the first commenters suggestions and they turned out amazing! I used a 50/50 mix of flour and powder sugar to keep my dough from sticking. These are my new go to rolled sugar cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
very bland in taste, needed more sugar. The dough was very easy to work with but the taste just wasn't what I expected
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
These are good, but don't really taste any different than "regular" sugar cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Richboro, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Princeton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
I've used this recipe for years now. It's amazing. Doesn't even need frosting, but is great with it too. Everyone asks for the recipe. sometimes I'll switch the almond extract for lemon or orange with some zest also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jasmine

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Living In: Fremont, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
Once decorated with frosting and candy/sprinkles, these are very tasty but not very tasty plain.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather Cooper

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Ithaca, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
These cookies taste good, however, I found them rather crumbly; therefore I was unable to roll them out and use cookie cutters. (I let dough chill in fridge over night) I think perhaps the problem was the cream cheese, 3oz doesn't seem like enough; or maybe not enough wet ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2011
Made modifications as suggested by others. 8oz cream cheese, omit salt, 1 c butter, 1 1/2 c sugar, 1 egg, 1 tsp vanilla, 1/2 tsp almond extract, 3 1/2 c flour, 1 tsp baking soda. Baked 6.5 min @ 375. Love how these smell & taste. Will definitely be my go to recipe for sugar cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Mandan, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
loved these, my new fav cookie. followed changes of 1 1/2C sugar, 8oz cream cheese etc... rolled into a log and chilled/froze for easy slicing, took them out a little early and they were so soft and pillowy. Dough dose not spread
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kitkitty79

Displaying results 91-100 (of 679) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies

See how to make the ultimate sugar cookie from scratch.

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States