Cream Cheese Sugar Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2006
Wonderful Cream Cheese Cookies! My recipe is a little different however. If you want your dough to be perfect you MUST use real butter and make sure it is unsalted. I use Land O Lakes. I use 8oz. of cream cheese, not 3oz. 1 1/2 cup sugar, 1 cup of unsalted butter, 1 8oz cream cheese, 1 egg, 1 tsp vanilla, 1/2 tsp almond extract, 3 1/2 cup flour and 1 tsp baking powder. I've never had problems getting these to roll out after chilling the appropriate amount of time. They bake easy and taste wonderful. I use royal icing to decorate. They make great gifts as long as I can get them out of the house before everyone in my family eats them!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1752 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2002
This recipe is definitely a keeper. Rather than roll and cut out the cookies I use a small scoop (or teaspoon), then flatten them slightly with a pecan or walnut half, then bake. I also have doubled the recipe, baked half the dough and formed the remaining dough into two cylinders, wrapped in plastic wrap and freeze. When slightly thawed, slice 1/4" thick and bake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
579 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CANDI591
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2007
I used the suggested changes of another user. I used 1 cup unsalted real butter, 8oz. of cream cheese, 1 1/2 cup sugar, 1 egg, 1 tsp vanilla, 1/2 tsp almond extract, 3 1/2 cup flour and 1 tsp baking powder. Very easy to work with and tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
347 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CANDI591

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Avon Park, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2002
GREAT recipe. Wonderful flavor, moist, perfect for decorating, easy to roll if you keep chilled. Must add a little more flour than the recipe calls for. I scoured through all of the recipes on this site for just the right cookie cutout. Given the multitude of mixed reviews, I was unsure, but liked the variation. I am extremely happy that I took the chance. These cookies were wonderful...everyone loved them and I will need to make another batch before Valentine's Day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
246 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2010
Really yummy cookie. I did increase the almond and vanilla extract to a tsp. each but I made no other changes. After chilling the dough overnight, we were ready to go. The dough just had to sit out for about 15 minutes to take the chill off and you really have to work fast because the dough warms quickly. I cut my cookies thicker because....we'll, it's a personal choice so I got much less than 72 cookies. No problem because this recipe is great! 375* for nine minutes was the perfect time for me. NOTE: If you wait a couple minutes after you take the cookies out of the oven and just let them cool on the cookie sheet, they'll slide right off onto your spatula.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
185 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2006
For anyone who really wants to enjoy these cookies you really have to use pure vanilla and almond extract. Philidelphia cream cheese and real unsalted sweat cream butter not margarine. Cut out your shapes a little thick. And make life easy on yourself by covering the cold dough with wax paper when you roll it out. If you would like them a little sweeter don't hesitate to frost them. NOW ENJOY!!! MMMMMMMMMMMM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
170 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2005
These were delicious. After I made the first batch....I had to make another because my Husband ate them all. I didn't roll them out and use cookie cutters. Instead I rolled them into balls and pressed them out with a glass. Then sprinkled decorated sugar on top...delicious. Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
149 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2007
This is a finicky recipy to work with, but if done right the cookies come out great. Be sure to work with the dough in portions (1/4 to 1/3 the dough at a time, chilling the rest when not being used). A few modifications are necessary, however. I used an extra 1/4 cu flour and used the entire egg and reduced the oven temperature to 325. For me, these made really awesome cookies that, when topped with the Butter Icing for Sugar Cookies recipe from this site (1 tsp almond instead of the vanilla), get great reviews. I never have any leftover.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
114 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2005
This has been a Christmas tradition to bake and decorate these cookies since I was a little girl. I have passed this on to my children as well and we have baked and decorated them every year for the past 14 years too! They are the absolute favorite cookies in our household. We make "paint" to decorate them by mixing 2c. confectioners suger, 1t. vanilla, and 2 egg whites. Add food coloring and we "paint" our decorations on them for a sweet holiday treat!!!! You won't regret baking this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
105 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
Perfect! Here are some sugar cookie rolling tips to make the most of your dough, as well as make things go a little easier and faster for you (hopefully!), because these are as time consuming as you'll let them be! So worth it though!: -I divide the ENTIRE batch into about 5 pieces, and leave them covered in plastic wrap or in plastic baggies in the fridge, removing one at a time to roll out. -Once I've used my cookie cutters on one as much as I can, I roll up the scraps, put them back into the plasic wrap/baggie, and into the fridge it goes. I do not re-roll it, even if I'm working fast and the dough's still cold. I then move onto the next ball of dough in the fridge, and so on, rotating in the same order I started. I do this until all of the dough is gone. -Everything gets rolled out onto a surface dusted with a 50/50 mixture of powdered sugar and flour. The powdered sugar helps keep the dough from getting tough, instead of using just flour alone. I hope all this helped some of you! Enjoy and have fun decorating!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
86 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~Marianne~

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mashpee, Massachusetts, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 663) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies

See how to make the ultimate sugar cookie from scratch.

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States