Cream Cheese Sugar Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 20)
Photo by Valerie's Kitchen
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2009
I noticed when adding in my dry ingredients that this recipe does not call for any baking powder/soda. I did not want flat cookies so I added in 1 tsp. of baking powder. I like the simplicity of the instructions and the fact that you use only 1 bowl. Many other reviewers mentioned increasing the amount of cream cheese which would really make this a completely different cookie. Even with just 3 oz. it adds quite a bit of richness and softness to the dough. The end result is quite soft so if you are using it for cutouts some shapes may have a tendency to break if you stack them. The flavor is very good however but I think there are better, more sturdy sugar cookie recipes out there for cutouts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Photo by Discojones
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2009
These turned out great, even with my tiny oven that has no temperature gauge! I read a lot of the reviews and decided to use about 5 oz of cream cheese, and some extra flour--about another half cup. I refrigerated the dough overnight, and I had no problems working with it—in fact I had to leave it out for awhile before I could start rolling it. I went a little crazy with flavoring the dough. To one half I added the zest of 1 lemon and topped those cookies with minced crystallized ginger. To the other half I added about 1/4 cup of cocoa powder and a little bit of instant coffee granules. I even combined the scraps from the two flavors to make a few marble cookies...they were all delicious—not too sweet. I made rabbit cookies for Easter and sent them to my boyfriend who was working out of town. He was beside himself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2009
The texture was great. The dough was okay. The cookies tasted not that great. Almond extract is something I will never add to a cookie again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2009
It was pretty good. I followed steps according to other revievers advice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
I LOVED this recipe - very easy, full of flavor... I wrapped the dough in wax paper and placed in the fridge overnight and was able to even slice pieces off so I did not have to roll the dough out.. I got some green icing from the store to top them off - they were a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milton, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
Best sugar cookies ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by banana1975727

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2009
Awesome cookies
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missylou

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prairieville, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Perkinston, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
I took the suggestion of another reviewer and used more cream cheese and flour and baking soda instead of salt. It turned out wonderful. I was searching for a recipe close to the bakery cookies and this one taste just like it. Everybody loves them. I made them for all the holiday and gathers. Nothing but compliments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
They weren't what I expected.I thought that they would be much softer.But the flavor was good & my guest enjoy them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
I give these cookies a four star rating because it was IMPOSSIBLE to roll and cut without a lot of sticking or too much flour on surface. I had to scratch the rolling/cutting and did a drop cookie. I did refrigerate for 9 hours. I also used full 8 oz. of cream cheese, a LITTLE bit of lemon zest and 1/8 c. extra sugar, and used vanilla instead. With all that said they came out FANTASTIC. Perfect sweetness, not very sweet like a regular sugar cookie. Texture was kind of like a cake. Very moist and stayed that way, fresh tasting, for 4 days. I baked them until golden around edges and the middle looked under cooked, but it wasn't. I will absolutely make these again, my way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tresha

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 191-200 (of 658) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies

See how to make the ultimate sugar cookie from scratch.

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States