Cream Cheese Sugar Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2014
Excellent recipe as written. I did follow the measure of ingredients, however, I did use a 3x2.5" egg shaped cutter for Easter cookies so I did a "test" cookie as always. I baked them at 350 F for 11 minutes on parchment paper in a gas oven and let them cool 2 minutes before transferring to a rack. I rolled out the dough between 2 sheets of parchment paper, (no flour needed), with "roller guides" under the parchment which allowed the cookies to be all exactly the same thickness. I used 2 pieces of flat wood molding, 18" long by .25" thick by 1.5" wide. I did chill the dough in between baking batches. I worked with 1/4 of the dough at a time and this recipe, using my cutter, yielded 25 cookies. Beautiful results. The next time I make them I may add some Cream Cheese Baker's Emulsion to intensify the cream cheese flavor. Truly as written, this proved to be an excellent cookie recipe. Oh, I only chilled the dough for 3 hours. I did cream the butter, sugar then added the egg followed by the extracts and then of course the flour...Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Macomb, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
My family loved this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2014
Awesome! I used the changes of another user, because I wanted more cream cheese and max flavor. "8oz. of cream cheese, not 3oz. 1 1/2 cup sugar, 1 cup of unsalted butter, 1 8oz cream cheese, 1 egg, 1 tsp vanilla, 1/2 tsp almond extract, 3 1/2 cup flour and 1 tsp baking powder." I used the sugar cookie frosting recipe from this site, which also has almond extract in. It matched really well and looked beautiful. These were a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
This cookie is fabulous! Reminds me of an old Scandinavian butter cookie recipe I had for many years and somehow lost in one of our moves. The only issue, if it can be called that, is that the dough was very hard after removing from fridge. After a few minutes at room temp, it was fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
Made these and they are delicious wouldn't change a thing almond extract gives it a wonderful smell and taste. Family loved them a definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2014
I would have liked it if the icing recipe was included-the cookie itself was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2014
I don't see any baking soda or powder in this recipe. What does it use for leavening?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
Great receipe-as a person who usually screws up cookies, this was my first success of cookies that didn't turn into rocks once cool.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
These are so fun and delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheRoseBunch

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Issaquah, Washington, USA
Living In: Renton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
This is my go-to recipe for any holiday cut-out cookies except that I double the extracts. If you really want the best results, don't roll your dough out with flour. Stay with me here - divide your dough into quarters and roll one portion out at a time between two sheets of parchment paper leaving the other portions in the fridge. I then transfer the rolled-out dough to the fridge again on a cookie sheet to chill a bit longer. Using this method ensures two things - you're not adding extra flour each time you re-roll your dough, and when it comes time to cut, your dough is cold enough to retain shape during transfer. I frost with a recipe containing powdered sugar, milk (ensures it "crusts" or hardens), corn syrup (keeps it shiny), and almond extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 657) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies

See how to make the ultimate sugar cookie from scratch.

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States