Cream Cheese Sugar Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 18)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
I couldn't get the dough to harden enough to roll out. I refrigerated it for a good 16 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
This is the best recipe for cut out sugar cookies, its rich and flavorful, and it really hold the shape of the cut-out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
I am a very busy baker at home ..I made these cookies twice and I think they are lacking in flavor as many reviewers have mentioned on here .....They also lack in color and texture ....These are like a sweet biscuit even when you cut down on the flour....and add more extract....These are the type of sugar cookie that was made in the Depression era..Not a modern day sugar cookie busting with flavor...I have found a good sugar cookie recipe on here called The best rolled sugar cookie recipe..and it is the best I have found on here so far...very unhappy with this recipe..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Texasfairbaker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waco, Texas, USA
Living In: College Station, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
This is a tender, moist cookie that will satisfy the most critical sweet tooth. I first received this recipe years ago from a student named Karin, when I was the RN/school nurse in the southern tier village in NY. Sometimes I replace the almond extract with lemon or orange juice and a bit of zest from either. "Cream Cheese Cookies ~ Karin's"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
These absolutely deserve a five at least for texture and mouthfeel of the cookie and the ease with which you can work with the dough. I didn't use these for rolled cookies, but will in the future! The dough is not sticky at all and very easily pliable. These cookies do not rise or spread at all, so what you put in the oven will be what you get out. The cookie turns out to be extremely soft, but not easily broken. The mouthfeel is incredible - these really melt in your mouth. The reason for the four stars is that I was not very fond of the flavor. The main thing I could taste was the almond extract. I will scale this back to 1/4 or maybe 1/8 of a tsp, and I think that would help a lot. I began to get used to the flavor, but it is just too different for me. I can play with the flavor ingredients some, but the texture has really won me over!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lchoward

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Auburn, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
What great tasting and beautiful cookies! I ended up using the whole brick of cream cheese as some suggested and followed up with the added remaining ingredients. These baked flawlessly! I've never made such a perfect looking sugar cookie! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jackie.f.johnson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2009
These are the best! The cream cheese adds the greatest flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather Spickard

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pender, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Ozark, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kim Cilley
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
These are the best! I've made them at least 10 - 15 times and I have always received many compliments on them. The last time I made them I made some modifications based on some prior reviews; used 8 oz. cream cheese, more flour, etc. These were not as good as the original and didn't even have more cream cheese flavor. They were more dry and the dough was harder to work with. Just my experience. The only other modification that I make is occasionally substituting the almond extract either with more vanilla or with lemon or raspberry. Also I have tried baking them using several different baking sheets and using a (pizza) stone yields the best results. They are cooked all the way through without the bottoms being browned. I take them out as soon as I see the slightest golden color to the top or edges.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim Cilley
Living In: Coeur D Alene, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
I used 8oz of cream cheese. But they turned out pretty bland. A waste of cream cheese! These cookies need to be heavily iced. Won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
These were good sugar cookies. Using real butter makes them taste great. I also followed the advice of other reviewers and used 8 oz. cream cheese. They rolled out perfectly between parchment paper and were easy to work with, not crumbly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 171-180 (of 659) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies

See how to make the ultimate sugar cookie from scratch.

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States