Cream Cheese Spritz Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
The cookies taste wonderful, but they are a pain to make. The dough doesn't go through the press easily, and the cookie sheet must be cold otherwise the dough won't stick as you press it onto the sheet. I thought the baking time was too long as well; I went with 7:15 and they came out perfectly. I doubt I'll be making them again, unfortunately.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
The dough worked great in my press but lacked flavor (I thought it was just me and my cold). Then my dad asked me why those cookies didn't taste like anything. Maybe more extract would have worked for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2011
I'm not a big fan of making spritz cookies because they are always such a pain to get to come out of the spritzer. But this dough worked pretty well. The only problem I had was probably the fault of the particular disk I used in my spritzer. Once I changed it, they worked fine. I made two separate batches (one red, one green). The first batch I made exactly as the recipe states, except with butter flavored shortening. For the second batch, I increased the sugar to 1/2 cup because they just didn't seem very sweet, and I added about 4 oz of cream cheese instead of 3 because they were a little crumbly. This all seemed to help. They're pretty good little cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2011
They didn't really taste like cookies. More like a biscuit with a slight hint of cheese flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauren

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2011
Made this recipe but added vanilla instead of lemon flavor,no problem. The flavor & texture were really good, my try 1/2 butter 1/2 shortening next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: The Woodlands, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
lacked flavor-
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KWISER

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
Loved these! Doubled the recipe, and used full 8oz bar of cream cheese. This recipe was sooo incredibly easy`1 used the lemon extract, even though I was a ittle worried with them going to be xmas cookies, but oh, they were so good. I may try almond extract or vanilla next time, but idk, it was sooo good with the lemon
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warren, Michigan, USA
Living In: Macomb, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
I started out following the recipe exactly, but that didn't work out for me. The dough was very crumbly and dry, and wouldn't stick together. I ended up adding another egg yolk and another 1/2 cup of shortening to moisten it up. I also added 1/2 cup of brown sugar. Once I made those changes, the dough was great and had a good flavor. I don't know what went wrong in the first place.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ARaleigh

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
I used butter instead of shortening, and added a little cinnamon, as I remember my mom's recipe calling for those. Delicious, a trip down memory lane with every bite. :) Thanks for posting this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
These turned out wonderfully. Rich, flavorful and the dough is very easy to work with. I also used almond extract because that's what I had on hand. Hint: be sure that your cookie sheet has coolded completely before squeezing out a second batch or the dough won't stick. I used silpat liners which made it really easy for the dough to stick coming out of the press.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream Cheese Mints

See how to make sweet peppermint treats that positively melt in your mouth.

Cream Cheese Squares

Flaky crescent dough layered with sweet cream cheese filling.

Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting

Cream cheese and whipped cream make this frosting addictive.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States