Cream Cheese Spritz Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by Tiffany
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2008
I did make a few changes to this recipe. I added food coloring to make it more festive, added an extra egg, and used vanilla instead of lemon. They were a perfect consistency for my cookie press. It was the first time I had used the press and this recipe was just right!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffany

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lafayette, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Java_Girl
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2008
I initially rated this 2 stars but with a few adjustments I will make it a 4. Since I had to open an 8 oz package of cream cheese for this I decided to double the recipe. I used 1 tbs of lemon extract and 2 tbs of lemon juice. Also, instead of using 2 egg yolks I used 1 whole egg and 1 egg yolk. They were very crumbly the first time I made this with yolk only and this solved my problem. Made the cookies with a decorator bag and large star tip. Easier than the cookie press and no clean up, just toss the bag. Everyone loved the tartness and said they really melted in their mouths. Thanks! Also, the plain version without the additional lemon didn't taste of cream cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Java_Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2007
These press beautifully and taste delicious, but I had to set my oven for 375 and bake for barely 8 minutes. Otherwise, they brown too quickly. I also suggest using parchment paper on your cookie sheets.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2007
Great recipe and is a standard in my Christmas baking (I would get in trouble with my sister if it weren't). The one change I made that makes such a big difference, is to use butter flavored shortening. Yummo - combined with the cream cheese and the lemon extract, it makes a perfect Christmas cookie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2007
I wasn't crazy about these cookies. They really didn't have much of a lemon flavor and I had to add a couple tablespoons of milk because the dough was not a good consistency for the cookie press. I then had to put them back in the oven a couple times because they flet like they were done, but after breaking one while placing them on the cooling rack they were still raw inside. I might try some alterations to this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie C

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Claridge, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Ooltewah, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2007
Yuck. The only change I made to this recipe were substituting vanilla extract for the lemon. These tasted so sour to me! And it wasn't that the cream cheese was sour - I checked it before adding. I think the cream cheese flavor was just too much for this delicate cookie. The consistency was good and they baked up nicely (good texture), but they just didn't taste right. Will not be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2006
i substituted butter for the shortening and lemon juice for the extract (as i had neither in my cupboard!). i didn't use a cookie press, just rolled into small dough balls and flattened it slightly before baking. turned out great. very light and melt-in-your-mouth, but the taste was quite subtle. still good though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2006
I made two batches of this recipe last night for a church function. I had such a hard time with the first batch that I thought I must have made a mistake, but I had the same difficulties with the second batch. First, the dough was waaaaay too stiff; it was the consistency of a rolled sugar cookie dough, which was too difficult to work with the cookie press. I ended up having to add an extra egg yolk PLUS 2-3 tbsp. of water to the dough to get it loose enough. The first batch tasted very bland, so for the second batch I substituted almond extract. That helped a little. Sorry, this recipe was more trouble than it was worth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by campagnes

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2005
Yummy little cookies!! I used almond extract instead of lemon. They turned out delicious. My press was a pain in the neck, so that's why I rated it only 4. I ended up doing the last batch by making small 1/2 inch balls and pressing with a fork like a peanut butter cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Irving, Texas, USA
Living In: Waddell, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2005
Oh My Goodness! What can I say. These were so easy to make and are just yummy!!! Light and delicate!! You can bet I will be making these again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cream Cheese Mints

See how to make sweet peppermint treats that positively melt in your mouth.

Cream Cheese Squares

Flaky crescent dough layered with sweet cream cheese filling.

Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting

Cream cheese and whipped cream make this frosting addictive.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States