Cream Cheese Snowball Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2010
so good. made these for a wedding. I loved the almond extract flavor. Much better than the version I remember. I chilled dough overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Maria Ramirez
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2010
Loved these cookies. I followed the instructions, with the exception of the walnuts(not a big fan). I did take some of the reviewers tips into consideration. Such as, refrigerate the mix for at least 15-20 minutes. It will be easier to manage and will hold their ball shape. Also I waited for them to cool down completed before rolling them in confectioners' sugar. Will make again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maria Ramirez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brownsville, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
I didn't use any nuts, but instead added a small package of chocolate pudding to the mix and also added chocholate chips at the very end, before baking. I rolled them in the confectioners sugar and then put them in the fridge. Serve them COLD!! They freeze beautifully. You can really use as much cream cheese as you wish - I added more than the recipe called for and they were great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
Moist and yummy. A wonderful alternative to the original snowball. After reading the reviews I did refrigerate the dough for 15 minutes and that helps keep the snowball together. I did opt to add the nuts to the dough instead of rolling the cookie in nuts and I doubled the recipe. While my son Chef Junior (also on this site) is out making real snowballs here in snowy NH I am back to the kitchen to make the Peanut Butter Blossoms also on this site as part of a large cookie assortment tray I will bring to my New Years Eve gathering tonight. Happy New Years everyone!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julia  Garreaud

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sherman Oaks, California, USA
Living In: Gilford, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
These came so close to my Grandmother's recipe and made our holiday that much more special! Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
Fantastic! I followed the recipe exactly. I will definitely be making these again. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
So good. I think I gained 5 lbs. just licking the batter off of the beaters. Lord help me when they come out of the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
these are very good, might even try rolling them out and making shaped cookies next time. I ended up baking for about 12-15min for a crispier cookie. First batch was a little doughy but still good. Play with the time to figure out your personal preference. This one is easy enough for the kids to help with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by angelaharris

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
THESE ARE AMAZING! I love Mexican Wedding Cookies and these are similar with the addition of cream cheese and more cake-like--- which is better! I doubled the recipe for holiday cookie plates. MY CHANGES: I left out the almond extract (because I didn't have any and I don't normally like it anyway) and added a tiny bit more vanilla extract. I also used confectioners sugar in the dough mixture to give it a smoother texture. I mixed the finely chopped walnuts into the dough then rolled them in my hands to make little 1.5" balls. They baked for about 10 minutes, I think. I didn't really time them-- I just watched for golden edges. They kept their general "ball shape" and didn't flatten much at all. I let them cool a few minutes on the cookie sheet, then transferred them to a cooling rack. When they reached room temperature, I gently rolled them in a bowl of powdered sugar. My family was eating them as fast as I was finishing them. I love that these have the taste of a Mexican Wedding Cookie, but are softer and have the hint of cream cheese. Great recipe! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
These were easy to make, kids could help with rolling into balls because the dough is not messy. Love the cream cheese flavour and tenderness. I took these to a cookie exchange and everyone else wanted the recipe. People think they're short bread but are surprised (and delighted) to discover they're soft. I too found they needed more time in the oven. (Just keep an eye on them since ovens vary so much.) I didn't have any sugar to coat, or the optional walnuts, so I drizzled melted white chocolate over them and they looked and tasted great. I will definitely make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fergus, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Guelph, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream Cheese Mints

See how to make sweet peppermint treats that positively melt in your mouth.

Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting

Cream cheese and whipped cream make this frosting addictive.

Cream Cheese Arepas

See how to make beautiful cream cheese breakfast arepas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States