Cream Cheese Ranch Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2011
Wow - really nice twist on a comfort food classic! If you like the flavor of Ranch, you'll love these mashed potatoes. I used red skinned potatoes and didn't bother peeling them. I would highly recommend adding the butter and sour cream until you get the consistency you desire. I got away with using low fat ingredients and didn't have to use what the recipe called for - plus I added just a bit of skim milk and some fresh chives. These were so creamy and such a nice change from regular 'ol mashed mahsed potatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2004
These were great. Instead of making them into mashed, I combined all the inredients in a large bowl, then tossed in red potatoes that I'd chopped into 1 1/2 inch pieces an boiled until tender. I used half the butter called for, just because it didn't seem to really need it prepared this way. You can't go wrong...who doesn't like ranch?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lakeside, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2004
These potatoes are DELISH!!!My kids LOVE cheese so I added a step. I cooked the potatoes about 15 min then mashed and added ingredients. Then I transfered to a baking dish and covered with cheddar cheese and put it in a 350F oven for about 10 minutes. It was WONDERFUL!!!! Thank you so much! My kids now say my mashed potatoes are better than grandma's. There is no better compliment!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waco, Texas, USA
Living In: Mill Creek, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2003
I like these, they are creamy and the ranch has a nice flavor. Be careful not to add too much salt as the ranch can be a little salty already. Also very nice with red potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2003
This has potential. Next time I'll try cutting back on the cream cheese, sour cream and ranch dressing by about 1/3. It was just a little over powering at full strength.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
These potatoes are as well received in our family now as they were when I first started making them many years ago. There's just something about that (Hidden Valley) ranch dressing mix that gives these mashed potatoes their distinct and unparalleled flavor. These potatoes, with their extra flavor, were perfect to accompany "Traditional Stuffed Peppers," also from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2004
Excellent recipe!! The only thing I did differently was skip the butter. I didn't see the point to it, but other than that it was terrific. Suggestion: throw everything in the food processor instead of blending and mashing. That or use your hand blender to get creamy smooth potatos. I served this with chicken coated in a tiny bit of the ranch dressing mix I had left, some italian seasoning and pepper. I just fried it in the frying pan with a little oil. Brought all the flavours together! Thanks for submitting a great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MINNIE000

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Niverville, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2002
Delicious potatoes! I used low fat cream cheese and sour cream to cut down on the calories and it still came out yummy! Very filling - don't need to put too many on your plate! Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2002
Made this last night for a husband and friend - they both liked it. I thought it was good, but I added green onions and bacon to the original recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2004
Delicious potatoes....I did reduce the amount of butter after reading the reviews. Hubby loves anything ranch and he liked these....thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cheese and Bacon Potato Rounds

See how to make cheesy potato rounds with crumbled bacon.

Oven-Roasted Potatoes

See how to make easy oven-roasted potatoes.

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States