Cream Cheese Pound Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by cookingDiva
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2014
This cake is great! I used cake flour and doubled the vanilla.I Highly recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
I just bake this cake,and it taste really good. I willdefinitely bake this cake again,but next time i will t take a bit less sugar,for me it was a bit to sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
This cake is well worth the time and money but with a few adjustments as well as knowing how to bake. I use 3 1/2 cups of sugar, 7 eggs, 1 Tablespoon of vanilla extract 1/4 teaspoon salt and 1/4 teaspoon baking powder. There are several keys to good baking and having a cake turn out the way you want it to. 1. Use real butter 2. Make sure all ingredients are good and in date. 3.Sift your flour for fresh sifted flour will make your cake rise better. Now for a well mixed cake do these few things. 1. Beat eggs and add little by little while alternating with the sifted flour. 2. Do not just pour the flour in. Mix the flour, salt and baking powder together. If the top starts to brown to fast, just place tin foil on top. This is a recipe that is a well worth it. It is the same as my Grandmother use to make back in the 50's and 60's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2014
I really can't believe all of the great reviews. This was the strangest pound cake I've ever tasted. The batter was foamy and almost souffle-ish because of all of the eggs. I was hoping this would turn out to have the heavy consistency and small crumb of most pound cakes I've eaten, but this was like a cross between cheesecake, angel food cake, souffle, and custard...it was just YUCK. And so sweet my teeth hurt. Don't waste your time with this. I wish I'd read the negative reviews first. I followed the instructions perfectly and even made sure the ingredients were room temp, used cake flour, added the eggs one at a time, and started from a cold oven. I cooked it way over the recommended time and it still didn't set in parts. I really don't know how people are coming up with such great results. Awful, awful recipe and it tasted very strongly of eggs and cream cheese, not like a pound cake AT ALL. I feel ill just having eaten a small piece of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
This cake was great. I used cake flour instead of all purpose as suggested by my friend who makes this cake. I also used a homemade cream cheese icing to drizzle over it. Took my time mixing everything. Baked on 300 in my over for 1 hr 45 minutes. Next time let butter, cream cheese & eggs sit at room temp and use 1 1/2 teaspoon of vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
Oh my, this is a keeper! I added a bit more vanilla extract but otherwise followed the recipe. Let the cream cheese and butter whip really good before adding the rest of the ingredients... worked awesome! My husband even asked me to keep this recipe which he rarely does! I served it with mixed berries and whipped cream! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patricia Ragle

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
Very good cake, we used it with strawberry shortcake, loved by all. I did use a bundt pan and had some sticking, I would grease and flour next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tami

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
I made this yesterday,and it was FABULOUS!!!!I followed a previously posted advice by putting it in a cold oven and started the kitchen timer when the oven got to 325 degrees. The only tweeks I made was to reduce the sugar by 1/2 cup and increased the vanilla to 2 tsps. Like I said, it was a HIT!!!! Another recipe for my recipe box. Thank you for sharing this great pound cake recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
I honestly have no idea what went wrong. First off I'm not sure what the texture of the cake is supposed to be. I literally just took mine out the oven after an hour and nearly 40 minutes (used a butter knife to determine that it wasn't done the 1st time I took it out). Not only was it not done though, the consistency was that of a regular cheesecake! 20 minutes later and the top is browner, but the knife is still full of softness. Previous reviewers did the toothpick test and had dry toothpicks (otherwise I'd assume that it just needed cooled down. I'm so sad..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiana Mells

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
I have made this recipe dozens of times......the recipe is perfect, but everybody's oven is different. I use a dark pan, so I lowered the temp to 275 degrees and baked it for 1 hour 40 minutes. Using an oven thermometer helps because some ovens cook hotter, resulting in the outside cooking faster than the inside. Believe me, after much trial and error, with a few tweaks, this is a great, moist pound cake. Also, I use 1 teaspoon vanilla and two teaspoons almond extract which is really tasty! I've used this recipe for chocolate and coconut pound cakes, too. Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Abbeville, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 768) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Awesome Carrot Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting

This carrot cake is dense and delicious, a real crowd-pleaser.

Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting

Cream cheese and whipped cream make this frosting addictive.

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States