Cream Cheese Pound Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
I honestly have no idea what went wrong. First off I'm not sure what the texture of the cake is supposed to be. I literally just took mine out the oven after an hour and nearly 40 minutes (used a butter knife to determine that it wasn't done the 1st time I took it out). Not only was it not done though, the consistency was that of a regular cheesecake! 20 minutes later and the top is browner, but the knife is still full of softness. Previous reviewers did the toothpick test and had dry toothpicks (otherwise I'd assume that it just needed cooled down. I'm so sad..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
I have made this recipe dozens of times......the recipe is perfect, but everybody's oven is different. I use a dark pan, so I lowered the temp to 275 degrees and baked it for 1 hour 40 minutes. Using an oven thermometer helps because some ovens cook hotter, resulting in the outside cooking faster than the inside. Believe me, after much trial and error, with a few tweaks, this is a great, moist pound cake. Also, I use 1 teaspoon vanilla and two teaspoons almond extract which is really tasty! I've used this recipe for chocolate and coconut pound cakes, too. Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Abbeville, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2014
I have made this recipe 3 times in the past month for various occasions. Everyone loves it. I added 1 tbsp of good vanilla extract, and it balances well with the cream cheese. One time I added the zest and juice of one lemon, and that was delicious also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2014
This is my "Go to" recipe!! It never fails me!! Easy and delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMYNIELSEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newberg, Oregon, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2014
Very similar to a cake I've been making for years to raves from everyone who eats it! In addition to those ingredients I add 1 tsp. baking powder and 1 tsp. salt. Then I sift them into the mixture with the flour. Crunchy outside, creamy inside!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2014
Made this cake last night to go with dinner. It was very easy to make with the simple ingredients and directions. I was looking for a pound cake loaf but decided to try this anyhow. It turned out great. My only complaint is trying to wrap a cake this shape to keep it from drying out is difficult. I put it in a plastic cake carrier and this morning the cut ends were a little dry. Other than that the cake is great. Its the same today as it was last night. I made the recipe exactly as it is written. I wouldn't make any changes unless you wanted a flavor like lemon or something, but we like it as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
Excellent pound cake. It is very moist and has a wonderful flavor. This was my first time using this recipe, but it won't be the last. I. Hope there is some left over tomorrow morning, I would like to have it with some strawberries for breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
This recipe is the bomb . I use it for a chocolate layer cake and peanut butter layer cake , it was simply great. I like the flavor as well as the cake's body to hold homemade icing .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2014
Just perfect! Great density, not too sweet, a great base cake. I got a little crackly crust but that was tasty, too. Had the first slice warm with a little Nutella, delicious. Used a blackberry topping when I served it and it was well liked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Little Falls, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2014
This is the best pound cake I have made. I used cake flour instead of all purpose. I read incorrectly and only used 1 1/2 cups of sugar and it is amazing. I will always cut the sugar in half now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 760) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Awesome Carrot Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting

This carrot cake is dense and delicious, a real crowd-pleaser.

Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting

Cream cheese and whipped cream make this frosting addictive.

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States