Cream Cheese Pound Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2015
I was having some family over for dinner last night and I decided to make this pound cake. It was amazing! I didn't make any modifications and it turned out great. Everyone just loved it! The best pound cake I've ever made, hands down!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2015
I made this exactly as the recipe called for except I used two teaspoons vanilla and cake flour. It's the first pound cake I have ever made, so I wanted to stick as close to the recipe as possible. OMStars! It's wonderful! It's not as heavy as some pound cakes, probably because of the cake flour, but it developed that wonderfully, sugary crust that is so good. Next time, I will try to add some lemon or coconut extract to see how we like those flavor a. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rebecca from LA
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2015
Really good recipe.. The only change I would make for next time is maybe a half cup less sugar .. It was a tad sweet for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca from LA
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2015
Perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by opheliamiller

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2015
This recipe is the original recipe for Sara Lee Pound cake. The only difference is that Sara Lee uses powder sugar instead of white sugar and no cream cheese. It changes the texture a little to a softer texture. INCREDIBLE recipe. My favorite!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2015
MMMMMMMMGOOD! added sugar after mixing cream cheese and butter. Read on the net that you should mix cream cheese first then add butter. First, I let eggs and butter become room temperature. I added the eggs one at a time and mixed about 30 seconds per egg. I used cake flour instead of regular flour. I added 1 and 1/2 teaspoons of vanilla and a teaspoon of lemon extract. Will try adding almond too next time. I also added 1/4 cup of milk as suggested by another viewer. I think I will try buttermilk next time. I made a lemon glaze and pour over once the cake was removed from the bundt pan. Lemon Glaze: 1 1/4 cups powdered sugar 2 teaspoons lemon juice 1 to 2 tablespoons milk I think I would like a thicker glaze. Will continue to look for one. New Edit: Made the cake again, tried the buttermilk- don't think I will use buttermilk again;because the cake was a little dry. I will use the 2% I did before. I added 1 teaspoon of pure vanilla, 1 and 1/2 of lemon extract and 1 tsp of almond astract. Will do 1 and 1/2 of the pure vanilla next time. I made a delicious buttermilk lemon glaze frosting: 1 and 1/2 cup confectioners sugar lemon peel grated 2 tablespoons of lemon juice 1 tablespoon buttermilk This one is a keeper for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2015
We loved this cake! I used 1 less cup of sugar the second time I made it. We had it once with warm caramel sauce drizzled over the top, The second time I did it with cherry pie filling and walnuts on top. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeanne Poore Klein

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2015
I made this recipe using some of the modifications suggested by other. I decreased the sugar to 2.5 cups and added 1/4 cup buttermilk. The crumb was tender and dense, and the flavor was subtle. I did have a hard time telling if it was done, and ended up over baking it a bit. I don't know that you really need to wait for a the toothpick to come out clean. Its probably fine if the crumbs are not wet and you've been baking for over an hour. It will keep baking a bit in the pan after you remove it from the oven. I will probably make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2015
This cake came out wonderfully, and to enhance the flavor in addition to the 1 1/2 tsp of of vanilla flavor I added 1 1/2 tsp of lemon juice to give the cake a lemon taste and used Swans Down cake flour as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vanita

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tyrell Boggan
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
This recipe is excellent! I love it!??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tyrell Boggan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 802) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Awesome Carrot Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting

This carrot cake is dense and delicious, a real crowd-pleaser.

Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting

Cream cheese and whipped cream make this frosting addictive.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States