Cream Cheese Pound Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2015
MMMMMMMMGOOD! added sugar after mixing cream cheese and butter. Read on the net that you should mix cream cheese first then add butter. First, I let eggs and butter become room temperature. I added the eggs one at a time and mixed about 30 seconds per egg. I used cake flour instead of regular flour. I added 1 and 1/2 teaspoons of vanilla and a teaspoon of lemon extract. Will try adding almond too next time. I also added 1/4 cup of milk as suggested by another viewer. I think I will try buttermilk next time. I made a lemon glaze and pour over once the cake was removed from the bundt pan. Lemon Glaze: 1 1/4 cups powdered sugar 2 teaspoons lemon juice 1 to 2 tablespoons milk I think I would like a thicker glaze. Will continue to look for one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2015
We loved this cake! I used 1 less cup of sugar the second time I made it. We had it once with warm caramel sauce drizzled over the top, The second time I did it with cherry pie filling and walnuts on top. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeanne Poore Klein

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2015
I made this recipe using some of the modifications suggested by other. I decreased the sugar to 2.5 cups and added 1/4 cup buttermilk. The crumb was tender and dense, and the flavor was subtle. I did have a hard time telling if it was done, and ended up over baking it a bit. I don't know that you really need to wait for a the toothpick to come out clean. Its probably fine if the crumbs are not wet and you've been baking for over an hour. It will keep baking a bit in the pan after you remove it from the oven. I will probably make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2015
This cake came out wonderfully, and to enhance the flavor in addition to the 1 1/2 tsp of of vanilla flavor I added 1 1/2 tsp of lemon juice to give the cake a lemon taste and used Swans Down cake flour as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vanita

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tyrell Boggan
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
This recipe is excellent! I love it!??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tyrell Boggan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2015
It was perfect. Definitely use cake flour instead of flour
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tamara Badson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by feekie
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2015
This is an amazing pound cake! It is incredibly dense and heavy, yet delicate and moist. The top or bottom of the cake, whichever way you think of it, is crunchy and buttery. In fact, it is so pretty and so good that I hated to hide it when I turned the pan onto the plate. I followed the recipe as written with two small changes. First, i sifted the regular flour twice, and second, I used a tablespoon of lemon flavoring and a healthy squirt of concentrated lemon juice and omitted the vanilla flavoring. I used a portable electric mixer until it was time to add the flour. At this point, I mixed in the flour and lemon flavorings by hand, because the batter just seemed too thick and heavy for my portable mixer. I followed the directions of baking the cake at 325 degrees for an hour and 20 minutes. After an hour I turned on the oven light and took a look at the cake through the door. It was obvious the cake was not ready. I waited the final minutes and tested the cake. It was still doughy. I set the timer for an extra 20 minutes and tested it again. It was lightly brown and showed no sign of wet dough when I inserted the knife. After cutting into the cake, I believe the cake would have been absolutely perfect if I had baked it an additional 15 minutes rather than 20. Still, this cake is still perfect as far as I'm concerned. I will be making this cake again -- probably sooner than later because I don't believe it will last long at all. Next time, I think I wil
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wewoka, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Casey
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2015
Best pound cake I've ever made
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Casey

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by K.Jones
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2015
WOW! This cake was amazing! I only had almond extract so I used that instead of the vanilla, and since I wasn't sure if the eggs I had were big enough in size I ended up using 7 just to be safe. I made sure to blend it really well after each egg was added and the batter was really smooth and creamy. The cake baked perfectly well and was just amazing! Thank you so much for providing such a delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2015
I made this cake last night and it was wonderful!!!!!!!!!I will try this again. I saved it in my recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 797) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Awesome Carrot Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting

This carrot cake is dense and delicious, a real crowd-pleaser.

Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting

Cream cheese and whipped cream make this frosting addictive.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States