Cream Cheese Pound Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
I made this last night. I have been using my mom's 30+ years recipe and decided to try something different. I would have to say this is very good and rich. My mom's pound cake recipe is dense but this cake is moist and rich. I did followed the instructiosn but only made few errors, I used three sticks of butter instead a one and 1/4 cup butter. Instead two teaspoons butter flavored, used one tsp butter flavored and 1 tsp orange juice. I didnt have lemon flavored in the cabinet. Reason for that is to balance and not overpower the cake becuase of the extra 1/4 butter additional to the cake batter. Also I use cake flour instead all purpose flour. I cut a slice of cake after 9pm last night. i couldnt help it it was so delicious..yummy. I'll make it again. I dont want to hurt my mommy's feelings on her recipe. hahaha
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: El Sobrante, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2012
This is the best pound cake ever. I've tried many different recipes for pound cake and this is by far the best ever. I take it to events and always get overwhelming comments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2012
Awesome! It's like the child of an Angel Food cake & a regular cake! I think the egg whites make the texture on this cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
This is an excellent pound cake. I used to bake the 7-up cake a lot, but this one beats it hands down!! I love it because I always have the ingredients on hand. I don't have to go out an buy 7-up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
I follow all direction on this receipe. This cake is very rich & good. This is the best beyond 5 stars. Very DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
Just made this for my office party and ended up cutting it in half to keep that half for myself! It is SO GOOD! Will make again as soon as butter goes down in price lol.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PeachyAndi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Augusta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
I split the batter between two 9x4 loaf pans. The amount of batter was perfect. However, like a lot of other reviewers, I had a hard time getting the center cooked without completely burning the crust. After 1h, the crust was already really dark, but a toothpick was still coming out pretty wet. After another 15 minutes, I turned down the oven temp, hoping that would keep the outside from getting much worse. I ended up having to cut off the ends before I served it because they were so burnt. That said, the flavor was really great. I used 1.5 tsp vanilla, 1/2 tsp butter flavor, 1/2 tsp almond extract. My (very large extended) family really enjoyed the pound cake, though I saw many people cutting off the burnt edges. Next time, I may try cooking at a lower temperature and/or wrapping the pans in foil to minimize the burnt outside. Lastly, I did mix about 1/4 cup of sugar with the egg whites (after they got foamy). It was a bit tricky to fold them into the thick batter, but doable with a spatula or large plastic spoon. The cakes did rise as much as I would expect, filling the loaf pans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
Great recipe. I used lemon and amond favor and cut the sugar to 3 cups. I turnd out great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
Great recipe. It is a pain to fold the egg whites in at the end, but a great cake. I put a ring of raspberries in after putting 1/2 the batter in and covered it with the remaining. This was great b/c it cut the sweetness. This cake did have to cook a little longer than recipe stated. I sliced up the leftovers and froze them. Reheat 350 for a few min and serve w/ ice cream for a great treat anytime!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
This cake is delicious and moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Awesome Carrot Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting

This carrot cake is dense and delicious, a real crowd-pleaser.

Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting

Cream cheese and whipped cream make this frosting addictive.

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States