Cream Cheese Pound Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2003
I have used several very good recipes from allrecipes.com but never felt compelled to write a review until this recipe. I made it for the birthday of a friend whose favorite cake-type desert is pound cake. She thought it was the best she has ever had. I would have to agree. I used 1/2 tsp almond, 1/2 tsp lemon, and 1 tsp vanilla. The flavor was perfect, as was everything about the cake. I looked at all the popular pound cake recipes, and I'm glad I chose this one. Won't ever look for another one. Btw, it took around 50-55 minutes in my oven, and it was not underdone at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2002
Absolutely delicious cake! I didnt have butter flavoring so substituted lemon extract. Also, I used 1/2 cup of the sugar to whip the egg whites into firm peaks. The folding of the egg white mix into the batter is what gives this cake the fabulous texture. Thanks for the recipe Bonny!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2002
Sour Cream Poundcakes have been the only kind my family has eaten for generations. After making this recipe I think I will have to convince my family to switch. It is wonderful! **I used vanilla extract instead of butter and it was perfect. Recipe can also be cut in half and baked in a loaf pan (I used 9x4).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2001
This is the best pound cake I have ever made. It is so moist. I use vanilla extract instead of butter. Any body can make this cake. It's wondeful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2006
I have had great luck with this recipe. It receives rave reviews everytime I make it. It's great plain or with fruit. The cake stays very moist in the center. And it freezes beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2006
So far, I have made this pound cake three times, it has been perfect each time and earned rave reviews from everyone who has tried it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2005
Wow! Awesome! I baked it exactly one hour. It could have used about 5-10 minutes extra because the bottom was not quite done, but it was close enough. The cake was DELICIOUSLY moist, the texture was awesome! I topped it with some homemade glaze...just used powdered sugar, milk, melted butter, and vanilla. Oh, and I think the trick to not burning the outside before it's done is to put your oven rack directly in the middle of your oven. That worked for me anyway. The cake was beautiful, tasted awesome, and impressed the inlaws as well as my pound cake-phobic hubby.:-) He's not usually a fan of them, but enjoyed this cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALLY99

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Athens, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2004
I served this, with a couple modifications, instead of wedding cake at my wedding reception a couple months ago. I replaced the butter flavored extract with 1 teaspoon vanilla and 1 teaspoon lemon extract. I used mini-bundt pans (I put the batter in a freezer bag and then cut off a corner to get the batter into the pans), so each batch had to bake for only 20 minutes. To serve, we topped each fabulous little cake with strawberries and whipped cream. Our guests loved them, some referred to them as "doughnuts," and more than a few asked for the recipe. Thank you for the recipe and reviewer's comments!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by onefuntina

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marysville, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2000
This recipe is great for the culinary challenged such as myself. It always comes out of the oven just right! Carla Hammond
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2006
This cake was perfect. Only thing I changed was I used butter nut extract instead of butter extract. My husband and kids ate it all in 2 days...my son cried because his brother got the last piece. So I will have to make this again and again. **I did have to cook it longer than stated..just use toothpick test**
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dothan, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream Cheese Pound Cake III

A classic recipe for a cream cheese pound cake.

Awesome Carrot Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting

This carrot cake is dense and delicious, a real crowd-pleaser.

Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting

Cream cheese and whipped cream make this frosting addictive.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States