Cream Cheese Pound Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2009
This cake takes some effort but it is well worth it. I have made it several times and have never been disappointed. I usually cut the sugar down to 3 cups and take 1/4 cup out of this to beat with the egg whites. I add butter nut and vanilla flavoring and a sprinkle of mace for added extra flavor. The recipe calls for a bunt pan, I'm able to make a small loaf cake out of the batter as well. This has become one of my most requested recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norfolk, Virginia, USA
Living In: Chesterfield, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2008
Very tasty and moist. I used 3 sticks of butter and vanilla extract instead of butter extract. I also used 3 cups of sugar instead of 3 1/2 and the cake was very sweet. The batter was VERY thick. I found it quite difficult to fold in the egg whites. By the time I got them in, I'm not sure that it was worth it. Surely the air in the whites was gone and added no benefit to the cake. Once the cake came out of the oven, I didn't find it to be very big or to have risen very much. So, I guess I have some work to do on this one. Has anyone else experienced this with this recipe?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2008
Delicious! No need to alter this recipe, it is excellent as is! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2008
This recipe was absolutely wonderful. I am making a three tiered wedding cake this Sept, so I have been busy practicing with this recipe. To spice it up for my family, I used Almond Extract and 2 tablespoons of Poppy seeds.. that was to die for. only problem I have is that it likes to get really dark on the bottom. Will try a couple of things to see if we can eliminate the darkness. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2008
I made this cake for my neighbors retirement party. It was delicious and moist. I used 3 sticks of butter, decreased the sugar to 3 cups and used vanilla extract instead of butter. I will definitely prepare again. I will use two extracts next time for even more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ellen Vig
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2008
Excellent flavor! A little eggy, and VERY sweet, but it tasted great. I made a pink castle cake with it for my daughter's birthday party and everyone loved it! Next time I will try cutting back the sugar by 1/2 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ellen Vig

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by WannaBeChef
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2008
I cut the recipe down to 9 instead of 12. I only had 3/4 of a package of cream cheese. I used whole wheat flour instead of all-purpose. I baked the pound cake 8 minutes longer than suggested in the recipe. I didn't have a bundt pan, so I used a spring form pan. I cut half of it into pieces, and after reading that the cake freezes well, I placed the rest of it in the freezer. We'll see how it is later on. This was my first time making a pound cake, and it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WannaBeChef

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2008
I made this cake and gave it to my hairdresser as a thank you gift. Two other stylist in the shop tasted it and now they're paying me to make them cakes! I've been looking for a good pound cake recipe and my search is over! This is THE BEST tasting pound cake I have ever made. I think adding the egg whites is what makes this cake. I like old fashioned pound cakes and this is it! The texture is great, the taste is awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2008
I rarely write a review but this recipe is really great and deserves recognition.I have made it several times and have modified it with various flavorings but the flavor that gets the most compliments is the butter flavor. I have also used butter flavor Crisco to substiture part of the butter. This is a great recipe!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2007
Kinda bland. Very moist and not too dense but not alot of flavor. I will choose another recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream Cheese Pound Cake III

A classic recipe for a cream cheese pound cake.

Awesome Carrot Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting

This carrot cake is dense and delicious, a real crowd-pleaser.

Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting

Cream cheese and whipped cream make this frosting addictive.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States