Cream Cheese Pound Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
I made this cake 3 different times this week. I love it! All three times I made it with confectioners sugar not granulated sugar. It turned out absolutely amazing, it is a heavy rich tasting cake. The first time I cooked it with 2 1/4 cups of sugar, in a bundt pan and used just vanilla, 1 TBSP plus 1 tsp. It was amazing topped with a dark chocolate ganache. The second time I used 2 1/2 cups of sugar, lemon extract in place of the almond and cooked in a bundt pan as well - it was amazing with a raspberry cream filling. The last time I used the recipe as is, baked in a large sheet 10 x 15 pan for 30 minutes. This cake I cooled overnight and then cut in half and stacked with a chocolate truffle filling then cut it into small petite fours with a poured chocolate fondant. MMMMMmmmmm! All I can say is this is my GO TO recipe for most of my specialty cakes from now on, I really like the cream cheese flavor and it is heavy and easy to work with cake for petite fours. I must say that I did enjoy it with the 3 cups of sugar, and did not find it too sweet, but I know that I can definitely adjust it depending on what the filling or icing will be to compensate for different flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
I made this recipe and it was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
This was a great recipe. I changed it up a little bit and made it even better, promise the best pound cake you will ever eat. use 12 oz of cream chesse 5 eggs and and everything else the same but place 2 and a half cups of water in the oven with the cake to make it very moist. Hope you try this you wont regret it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
This is the only pound cake I bake with a few minor changes. I omit the almond flavor and use only lemon instead. I top it off with a strong citrus glaze and everyone ask me to bake my secret pound cake. LOL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patriciaatl
Home Town: Pine Bluff, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
This was delicious. I did some modifications though. I added 1/2 t baking soda, 1/2 t baking powder, used 2 sticks of butter and 1 cup sour cream and also added a little extra vanilla & almond extract - to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
This was Wonderful, GREAT! I did not give it 5 stars because it lacked one item I use with all my pound cakes (Sour Cream). Great tasting! I did use vanilla and coconut as I do not like the almond taste. I will make again, Merry Christmas
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicci's Secrets

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
I love the flavor and consistency of this pound cake. However, I have a mystery: I baked my cake in a bundt pan and the top of the cake just fell and crumbled to pieces. Too much air? I used a stand mixer and did what others suggested: I whipped the butter, cream cheese and sugar till fluffy, then alternated the flour and eggs. I consider myself a pretty good home baker and hoped to the a result would look like the picture...but no luck. Any advice? I also need a better release spray than the canola spray is used...I did have some sticking to the pan. I'm going to try the cake again. Practice makes perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
I followed the instructions and it came out a little dry. I think maybe regular flour might have worked better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ajoy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
Amazing! The best pound cake I've ever had! I made it exactly as directed and it turned out absolutely perfect! I love the soft, delicate texture of the inside contrasted with the the almost meringue-like texture of the crust when it's fresh out of the oven. And the vanilla almond flavor is out of the world! I know I'll be making this again and again! I can't wait to try it with lemon and orange flavors!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Agrella

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2010
very good,family loves it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 475) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Awesome Carrot Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting

This carrot cake is dense and delicious, a real crowd-pleaser.

Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting

Cream cheese and whipped cream make this frosting addictive.

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States