Cream Cheese Pound Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
Turned a messed up cookie recipe into this pound cake - delicious! I had 1 1/2 cups sugar, 1 1/2 cups butter, 4 eggs, 1/2 tsp almond extract, 1 tsp coconut extract and 4 cups powdered sugar(this sugar should have been used for a glaze) all mixed together. Put the ingredients into more searches and found this recipe. Added the cream cheese, 2 1/2 tsp vanilla, 2 more eggs, and the cake flour. I baked it in a stoneware fluted pan for 1 hr 45 min, think I should have baked it for about 15 min more. If anyone has baked this in a stone pan please let me know how long you baked it for. Turned out wonderfully!!! Loved it! Never throw out a mistake - you never know what you can turn it into.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
I love this recipe!!!! I only made one substitution and that was swapping the almond extract for 1 1/2 teaspoons of lemon extract. Delicious!!! Thanks for sharing...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
I thought the recipe was good. I have made it before and this time was better. My butter, eggs, and cream cheese sat on the kitchen counter all day. I took a great point from another person who said make sure you mix everything well then incorporate the flour instead of mixing it well. I did add lemon flavor and squeezed juice from an orange on top of the hot cake. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
EXCELLENT!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Humacao, Humacao, Puerto Rico

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2012
A good, and not too complicated, pound cake. Cooking time is perfect - don't overdo it! The first time, I let the butter and cream cheese soften to room temperature. I think this made it lose some "fluff." The texture and consistency was much better the second time, when I used cold ingredients and had the flour and eggs pre-measured out into separate bowls so I could combine the ingredients more quickly. It made a difference! My changes: reduced sugar to 2c., used only vanilla (didn't have almond), and used the 1/3 less fat cream cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
This c.ake is super rich and flavorful. Is very easy to make, the creativity is limitless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Effort, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2012
Excellent! for a simple and elegant finish, tap a stainer of powdered sugar over your cake. So pretty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2012
I have never been a big fan of pound cake but I LOVE THIS!!!! and everyone that has tried this recipe loves it too. I have to change a few things because my son has a diary allergy and we still comes out wonderful and fluffy. I have made it so many ways with all kinds of fruit fillings, as birthday cake and just the slices of ound cake by themselves. You can't go wrong with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2012
I have been making this cake for 30+ years and it has yet to fail me! The number of times I have been asked to bake this cake (I wished I had a dollar for each request :) The tick to having a moist cake what I have found...I sift my cake flour 2x's (I take out what I think is a little over 3 cups of cake flour and SIFT it into a bowl, thenI take a large serving spoon and gently shake the flour into a measuring cup, leveling it with the back side of a knife and shake , (not dump it) but shake it into the sifter. Then when the recipe calls for the flour to be added to the creamy batter, (this will be the second time the flour has been sifted) I know this may sound like a lot of work (and it could very well be) but not to me because of all of the raves I receive...well worth the work!!!! The recipe is sooo worth the effort put into it. I use various types of flavoring, lemon, coconut, I have even used lime juice! I am not a bit fan of almond by itself (I add vanilla to mine). Try using vanilla and lemon together!! Ummm-ummm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2012
Tastes chemical. Is it wrong to put too much extract? I put in a 9" cake tin & didn't know the center still wet. Only managed to re-bake but kind of too late. Ate some, but don't really like too much extract. Hv never had baked so failure b4. Looks like I hv to delete from my recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 478) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Awesome Carrot Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting

This carrot cake is dense and delicious, a real crowd-pleaser.

Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting

Cream cheese and whipped cream make this frosting addictive.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States