Cream Cheese Pound Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by LISAAL
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2013
This was good, dense and easy to make. I did heed other reviewers comments and reduced the sugar to about 2.25 cups. I also added thinly sliced strawberries to the middle of the cake, strawberries to the top and then a glaze made with evaporated milk and confectioners sugar. I served it at an office birthday party and it was a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LISAAL

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2013
Ok as is it is a true pound cake recipe so it is correct in measurements but i tweaked it to my own liking.....i decreased the sugar to 1 1/4 cups and only 1 cup of butter. With these tweaks it was more to my liking; however; if u want a ture dense pound cake this is it. Enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tonton

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2013
My go to recipe is a sour cream pound cake I've made for years. It always comes out wonderfully dense & moist. However I always wanted to see if a cream cheese pound cake would be any better. Well, I won't say it's better but it's most definitely just as good. Very, dense velvety consistancy w/ that crunchy outside that I love. I did add 1/4tsp. baking powder & 1/4cup of milk and it was delicious. It took a bit longer to bake than my sour cream recipe but that may be due to the milk I added. F.Y.I If you don't have cake flour use 3/4 cup all purpose flour + 2tbls a.p. flour + 2tbls.cornstarch for each cup of flour the recipe calls for. Your results will be just as good with this substitute.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
Really liked this but I did decrease the sugar to around 2 1/3 cups. Would also be great with some citrus zest or more almond.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
I followed the recipe as written. It's very tasty but I wish there was more about the baking process. This was the first time to bake a pound cake and using a bunt pan. I did spray down my pan but I filled it out too much. I wasn't sure how much it would rise. The increase was about 15 -20% which over flowed the bunt pan and landed in the bottom of my oven. No biggie, except for the smoke it created . :) The baking time was longer than the 1 hour and 15 minutes. For me it was closer to 1 1/2 hour. Then, I couldn't get the silly cake out of the bunt pan. :( I gave up and just cut slices of pound cake out of the pan. It tasted delicious. I will make this again. However, I will follow the lead of the other reviewers who split the receipt into two pans. I would have given the recipe 5/5 stars but the baking directions need to explained more for us newbies. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by makehurst

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
Turned a messed up cookie recipe into this pound cake - delicious! I had 1 1/2 cups sugar, 1 1/2 cups butter, 4 eggs, 1/2 tsp almond extract, 1 tsp coconut extract and 4 cups powdered sugar(this sugar should have been used for a glaze) all mixed together. Put the ingredients into more searches and found this recipe. Added the cream cheese, 2 1/2 tsp vanilla, 2 more eggs, and the cake flour. I baked it in a stoneware fluted pan for 1 hr 45 min, think I should have baked it for about 15 min more. If anyone has baked this in a stone pan please let me know how long you baked it for. Turned out wonderfully!!! Loved it! Never throw out a mistake - you never know what you can turn it into.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
I love this recipe!!!! I only made one substitution and that was swapping the almond extract for 1 1/2 teaspoons of lemon extract. Delicious!!! Thanks for sharing...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
I thought the recipe was good. I have made it before and this time was better. My butter, eggs, and cream cheese sat on the kitchen counter all day. I took a great point from another person who said make sure you mix everything well then incorporate the flour instead of mixing it well. I did add lemon flavor and squeezed juice from an orange on top of the hot cake. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
EXCELLENT!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Humacao, Humacao, Puerto Rico

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2012
A good, and not too complicated, pound cake. Cooking time is perfect - don't overdo it! The first time, I let the butter and cream cheese soften to room temperature. I think this made it lose some "fluff." The texture and consistency was much better the second time, when I used cold ingredients and had the flour and eggs pre-measured out into separate bowls so I could combine the ingredients more quickly. It made a difference! My changes: reduced sugar to 2c., used only vanilla (didn't have almond), and used the 1/3 less fat cream cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 473) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Awesome Carrot Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting

This carrot cake is dense and delicious, a real crowd-pleaser.

Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting

Cream cheese and whipped cream make this frosting addictive.

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States