Cream Cheese Pound Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
I literally had to freeze this to keep myself from eating it. I reduced the sugar to 1 1/2 cups like others suggested, otherwise did exactly as original poster in 2 9" bread tins. PERFECT at 325 for 35 minutes. Added lavender icing over the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mama Ali

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oneida, New York, USA
Living In: Woburn, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
I tried this twice and just couldn't get it right. The flavor of the batter is wonderful, but my final product left a lot to be desired. The first attempt fell. I thought it might have been the cake flour I used, so I tried again with regular flour. The second attempt was a little better, but not much. Both seemed to be very eggie for me. I like a heavy cake, but this was too much. However my husband liked it. I'll try one of the variations next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
When Grandma LTH requested Strawberry Shortcake for her 85th birthday cake, I was momentarily flummoxed (I prefer my cake sans fruit). I turned to resident culinary guru Naples for help and she steered me in the direction of this recipe and I'm so glad she did! I followed the recipe to a "T" (though I did bake in mini bundt pans, resulting in a decreased bake time...about 35 minutes) and the results were delicious! I knew they were going to rock when I couldn't stop stealing swipes of raw batter! I did not eat a strawberry topped cake, but I did enjoy the tidbits I leveled off to all for a smooth bottom. THANKS for a great recipe (and special thanks to Naples for pointing me in the right direction!)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovestohost

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
for some reason my cake turned out rubbery...taste was ok but texture was weird =/
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2010
This poundcake was absolutely delicioso! I read some of the other reviews of people who added sour cream to the recipe. Because I was afraid of the cake being too dry, I added 3 T of milk. I'm not sure if this helped the moisture or not, but it was very tasty, delicious, and incredible. I am going to asky mysister, Adora, to make it for my husband's 40th birthday.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Esha Bell

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Inglewood, California, USA
Living In: Pasadena, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2010
Great Cake! I baked it once like the receipe stated and it fell. Second time I used reg. flour, 1 tsp. salt and 1/2 tsp. baking powder. Baked at 300 for 1 hr. 45 min. and it came out great! I will replace my old receipe with this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2010
I have made this cake for over 15 years but a slight variation. I just juse one tablespoonful of vanilla and beat it with the cream cheese and butter. I add eggs one at a time and beat well. I add the cake flour last and just mix until smooth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
I was so excited to make this, but after 1 hour 10 min it was nice and brown and beautiful. Within 10 min of removing it from the oven it sank to half it's height.....I flipped it over onto a plate and it looked so pitiful. I beat the cream cheese/butter/sugar for over 5 min with a handheld mixer...maybe that was the problem-the handheld mixer. I also only had 5 eggs, so used 1/4 cup applesauce for the last egg....maybe that was the problem. Oh well I will stick to my lemon pound cake yumm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rocksteady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
Came out nothing like the photo....it actually resembled a brick! (in bundt form of course) It definitely needs a levining agent (the eggs just don't cut it).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
Best pound cake recipe ever!!! Very moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 475) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Awesome Carrot Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting

This carrot cake is dense and delicious, a real crowd-pleaser.

Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting

Cream cheese and whipped cream make this frosting addictive.

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States