Cream Cheese Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2013
A traditional recipe for basic cream cheese pound cake with a little variety in the flavoring and a half cup less sugar. The blend of almond and nutmeg didn't appeal to me, so I just stuck with boring old vanilla - and added about 1-1/2 cups of frozen blueberries. What peaked my curiosity, really, was the lesser amount of sugar than the standard recipe calls for. Since sugar has a lot more to do with a baked product than just its sweetness (like volume and moistness, for example) I was interested to see how it might affect the final result. Well, apparently reducing the sugar by this half cup was not enough to affect its quality in any way. It was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
I made this recipe for a cookout with my boyfriends family. It was a hit to say the least. I was quite pleased with the result. I drizzled straberry glaze over the top and scattered fresh sliced strawberries on top of that and then sprinkled it with confectioners sugar. It was delicious. Unfortunately this is not the recipe I was looking for but it was a great substitute. A woman i used to know made an angel food cake that had cream cheese in the recipe and it was heavenly. I cannot find anything like it and i am not able to get it from her anymore. Anyway, this was agreat cake. Thanks for making me look good with the family. a couple people swore i had to have bought it cause normal people don't bake like that from scratch. Box mixes has ruined the world of baking in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Moriah

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Terre Haute, Indiana, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2013
absolutely delicious...i followed the recipe but added a hint of lemon flavoring..its great and eay to make!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2013
Followed the recipe almost exactly...which I never do. We have nut allergies so I doubled the Vanilla and left out the Almond Extract! I couldn't resist adding a bunch of the beautiful fresh blueberries that I had just bought. Poured 1/2 the batter into my tube pan and sprinkled blueberries on the batter (3/4 cup?). Covered the blueberries with the remaining batter and baked for 60 minutes - not done. It needed the full 80 minutes. 18 year old started cutting it before I could photograph it (really pretty) and took one bite, closed his eyes and said; "BOMB!" THAT FOLKS - IS AS GOOD AS IT GETS! Smells amazing and pretty too. 5 Stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jewels

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northridge, California, USA
Living In: Valencia, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
I made this this past weekend for company and it was delicious. I made the following changes: (1) added one tablespoon of lemon juice, (2) zested half of a small lemon into the mix, (3) only put 1/4 teaspoon of almond extract, (4) used cinnamon instead of nutmeg and next time i would probably omit both since i didn't notice a difference. almond extract is extremely strong and i just didn't want to overpower the cake. turns out the 1/4 teaspoon was enough for us. next time, i might only bake it for 70 minutes though because the edges were a little brown at 80; cake was still moist though. i topped this with a basic vanilla glaze but next time i think i will just make a fresh whipped cream to top it. and there WILL be a next time. i'm so happy i tried this even though there aren't 2,000 reviews for it=) it's great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
This was such an easy cake to make! The texture was wonderful, almost that European taste! I made toothpick holes on the top of the cake and then put a simple glaze of 1/4 cup of sugar and 1/4 cup of lemon juice which I boiled, then poured over the top of the cake. It was a huge hit at the party some people asking for thirds! This is a keeper for sure!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
Tony, This is the BOMB! Great, dense, PERFECT pound cake. Chose to use lemon extract b/c I don't like almond extract. Super as written. No need for any change. Can't believe this doesn't have a bazillion reviews. Keep the recipes coming, Tony. OH, and thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Euless, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
Ok so dont laugh but first time from scratch baker at home.....lol im 40 I tired this one first just last week needless to say it disappeared I just made it again..tonight...awesome cake!!!!! Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mzsmiles

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2014
This is the pound cake recipe I wanted. The only changes I made to the recipe was to omit the almond extract (didn't have any) and the nutmeg. I added a little more than a tablespoon of pure vanilla extract. I baked in two loaf pans and the texture of the cake is exactly like any store bought -- but better!!! This is at the top of my cake recipes from here on in! Don't have cake flour in the pantry? No problem. For every 1 cup of all purpose flour, remove two tablespoons of flour and replace with 2 tablespoons of cornstarch. So for this recipe, I measured 3 cups all purpose flour, removed six tablespoons of flour and replaced with six tablespoons cornstarch. Sifted together and presto, cake flour!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Whitby, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2014
I grew up making pound cake from scratch, being raised by my grandmother. This recipe is by far one of the best I've come across in a while. It is quick, easy, and is delicious! I reduced the sugar by one half cup and added 4 oz of whole buttermilk. I used cardamon in place of the nutmeg and doubled up on vanilla extract, omitting the almond extract. This is my new base cake recipe. Keep them coming, Tony!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Awesome Carrot Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting

This carrot cake is dense and delicious, a real crowd-pleaser.

Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting

Cream cheese and whipped cream make this frosting addictive.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States