Cream Cheese Penguins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by vicki
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
Liked this! Made in
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
This really is the cutest/funniest horderve I have ever made! They are easy to make after the prep, and come together just perfect! The roasted red pepper scarf is cute, but a pain in the butt. They look fine without.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
I can only rate this recipe on the look and preparation, since I hate black olives, carrots and pimentos! I just have a couple of ideas for making them easier to assemble. I cut a skinny wedge out of the front, as others have suggested, rather than a slit. Make sure your olives are intact, with no weak spots or tears before using. Use a sharp paring knife to cut, making sure that you don't cut any further than one side. It was easiest for me to use my finger to stuff the cream cheese and clean up the outside. I just grabbed a glob of softened cream cheese on my fingertip and stuffed it in. Then ran my finger under warm water and used my wet finger to clean off any cream cheese on the olive. They look cuter if you slightly overstuff them, giving them a more rounded chest. And you can use your moistened finger to smooth it out. The biggest problem I had was trying to make scarves out of pimentos. My slices were all mushy and I had quite a time finding one long enough to use, or to make them stick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Westland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
This was a big hit a at Christmas party I attended last Saturday. And they even taste great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
So cute!! Since everyone said the tasate was a little bland, so I used cranberrie goat cheese - excellent! The only mistake was buying the cheap jar of roasted peppers cuz the pieces were too small to make a long scarf. I managed, but tricky. I also used the veggie peeler to make strips of carrots that worked well for scarves - easier to handle. For the display I added some pieces from my Christmas village: kids sledding & trees. I put it all on a round white stirofoam and covered half of it with foil cut in a half-circle to look like an ice rink. Igloo was a nice touch too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
Wow...this got a great reception from a group of picky eaters! And let's face it, they are totally adorable! We added someone's idea of a cheese ball covered in the cream cheese as an igloo and we did use whipped and flavored cream cheese. I think otherwise it would be sorta bland. Next time (tomorrow!) I'll substitute jarred red & green peppers for the scarves. The pimentos we bought were too skimpy and wouldn't stay in place.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Stroudsburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
These are time consuming but so worth it! Adorable, tasty, and fun! Do not pass this up if you need penguins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIANNASR

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
This is similar to a recipe I have been using for quite some time except the recipe I followed called for horseradish mixed with the cream cheese. I would make ones with and one without horseradish and use different colored frilly tooth picks to tell the difference. If you put the cream cheese mixture into sandwich bag and cut a corner out it makes it easier to fill the body of the penguin. They are time consuming but always a hit when I take them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CJ
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
A few tips for a successful penguin assembly. For the penguin body take a jumbo olive and use the small "cross" on one end as a template for cutting. Use a sharp knife with a pointed tip and insert it into the "cross". Use the slot made from the pitting process as a guide for your knife and make your first cut. Follow the next tip of the "cross" to make your second cut. This will give an even 1/4 part to remove. I use a butter knife and regular cream cheese to fill the penguin bodies. Using a small amount on the tip of the knife it slides in quite easily. Use your finger to touch up where needed. For the heads it works best to cut narrow triangles. Insert them through the large hole end and the "beak" will pop out of the smaller hole. Use a toothpick to push through. The rest of the penguin is easy to assemble. Just made sure the carrot is nice and thick to create a sturdy base. A nice variation is to mince smoked salmon, fresh dill and a squeeze of lemon juice into the cream cheese before assembling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CJ

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA
Photo by Susanna
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
I made this for my office Christmas party, they are great for snacking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 681) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cream Cheese Penguins

These adorable cream cheese penguins go beyond cute.

Salami, Cream Cheese, and Pepperoncini Roll-Ups

See how to make a super-easy, meat-and-cheesy party appetizer.

Cream Cheese Mints

See how to make sweet peppermint treats that positively melt in your mouth.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States