Cream Cheese Penguins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2002
Stuffed olives with cream cheese has always been a favorite of mine but I would never have thought to shape them like a penguin. CUTE! I like to use the "onion & chives" flavored cream cheese. It gives an added flavor. To easily get the cream cheese into the olives, I use a pastry bag with a #12 tip. I'll now need to buy a smaller tip to fill the smaller olives. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
109 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2002
These are hilarious! My friends and I made them for a "girls" night, and giggled all the way through. So fun! I found that putting a little cream cheese on the carrot bottom (feet) made the body stick better. And the thicker the slices, the more they stand up on their own. Not too thick though, because you don't want an overwhelming carrot flavor. .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2002
I have never really tried to do anything half way creative for a party. Going to the corner store and picking up something to bring is the usual for me. I'm not that artistic. So when my mother laughed at me for wanting to try this recipe and stuff little black olives. I had to prove to her I could do it. To my surprise it wasn't hard at all. Time was the biggest factor. I had 25 done within a half hour. Keep a clean wet towel by when stuffing the olives because the cream cheese does get a little runny. Everyone loved these at the party and could beleive I was the one who made them. They were a BIG hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WHITEWATER960

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2002
Yes, they are a bit time consuming, but I don't mind the extra effort for a special occassion. However, I have discovered that it is impossible to make too many of these little guys!! The whipped cream cheese (vs the typical block) is very easy to work with for the filling, I recommend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2002
Labor-intensive but absolutely adorable, a real crowd-pleaser. Better for visual effect than actual taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jilly

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Jackson Heights, New York, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2002
I made these for a Christmas party. I got so many compliments, I couldn't believe it! People couldn't stop eating them, and some people even took one home in their hands so they could figure out how to do it at home! VERY CUTE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MSPECKMA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2002
Made these for my son's first birthday open house and they were a smash! Some guests didn't want to each them because they were so cute and obviously take a little work. I used a pastry bag to pipe the cream cheese (I whipped it, first) into the olives as another review suggested. MUCH easier than trying to stuff them with a utensil, which I tried on a test run. My daughter, a black olive afficianado, couldn't keep her mitts off of these as I made them! Sent the instructions home with several guests and will use these again at Christmas time for our family gathering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2002
The host and hostess of the party I took these to wouldn't let anyone eat them until they took a picture! They were easy to make (definitely use the whipped cream cheese) and held together just fine without using a toothpick. My stepdaughter and I were cracking up the whole time we were making them because these little guys are just so darned cute!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2002
Everyone at the barbeque I took these to could not get over how cute they were. People took pictures and talked about them but no one ate them! About half of the penquins kept falling over so next time I will try and find the frilly toothpicks as recommended. A real crowd pleaser!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Gotha, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2002
This recipe was the "hit" of our party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 661) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream Cheese Penguins

These adorable cream cheese penguins go beyond cute.

Salami, Cream Cheese, and Pepperoncini Roll-Ups

See how to make a super-easy, meat-and-cheesy party appetizer.

Cream Cheese Mints

See how to make sweet peppermint treats that positively melt in your mouth.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States