Cream Cheese Penguins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
Found extra large canned black olives used with small and used roasted red pepper sliced into thin strips for scarf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
They are pretty bland as is. I made jalapeno pepper hats for a little spice, roasted red pepper scarves, and used the regular cream cheese. Very cute. (At least until my husband's "seal attack" doused them with Tabasco sauce.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA
Living In: Payson, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LaurieP
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
These were a hit at my New Year's Eve Party! I found using a styrofoam plate turned upside down worked great to hold them in place since you could simply push the tooth pick into the plate. An added bonus, the white plate looks like snow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Berwick, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Bloomsburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
Got so many comments and laughs! I added 1 tablespoon of bottled Ranch Dressing to the cream cheese and piped it into the olives. Will make again along with my Chocolate covered cherry mice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
Cute, fun and easy to make. Definitely need to add flavor to the cream cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
I wish I had read all the reviews before I attempted these; there are some great hints. They are sooo cute and were a smash hit. I did not buy the largest olives,colossal; I bought large like it said. Next time I will use the largest available! Therefore trimming the carrot for the nose and the pepper for the scarves were tedious. I used good seasons dry spicy Italian dressing in the cream cheese for seasoning then used the left over as a veggie dip. But the finished product was cute as heck and went over well. People agreed to take them home but would not eat them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
Cute, conversation starter, but annoying to make and not very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
Had my daughter make this for family Christmas party. It was a huge hit even the members that hate black olives at least said they were adorable! Used chive and onion cream cheese to fill them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brewer, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
These penguins were such fun. Everybody was enthralled with them. I made them using a lot of the hints, such as flavoring the cheese and putting the beaks into the crosscut end. Using marinated roasted red peppers with garlic for the scarves made them tastier. In assembling them, I dried the olives as much as possible and did the plastic bag trick for filling them (also filled the head). Keeping the areas as dry as possible seemed to do the trick as far as keeping the cheese from smearing all over the olives. Putting on a big white restaurant apron, dampening a double sheet of paper towel and laying it on the table in front of me was the beginning. When I got cheese on my hands I dampened them on the towel and wiped them on the apron. Then using a facial tissue, wiped the outside of the olives (paper towel was too stiff). Worked like a charm. Valerie, thanks for the unique idea. Thanks also to the member who said to transport them, put a sheet of plastic wrap over the picks to keep them upright. They were transported a hundred miles and only a couple had tipped over. They were also made 3 days before being used. A dampened paper towel under them and covered with the plastic wrap kept them fresh. Even the feet and beaks stayed bright orange. I taped the plastic to the rectangular container.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rapid River, Michigan, USA
Living In: Readfield, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
I tried this for a Christmas finger food event (definitely would work for any winter event). Although it was a little tedious to put it all together, it was relatively easy (my grandson helped me). I think that the cream cheese was bland by itself and needed a little zip. I can't decide if just some onion and garlic powder would have been enough, or possibly some Spice Islands Beau Monde seasoning would have made it a little more tasty. I wanted to maintain the white coloring of the cream cheese so maybe a flavored whipped cream cheese would have also worked. Definitely would do it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Conway, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 659) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Cream Cheese Penguins

These adorable cream cheese penguins go beyond cute.

Salami, Cream Cheese, and Pepperoncini Roll-Ups

See how to make a super-easy, meat-and-cheesy party appetizer.

Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting

Cream cheese and whipped cream make this frosting addictive.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States