Cream Cheese Penguins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
Adorable. Easy to make (my daughter helped me) and a big hit at the party! I think they would taste better next time with something added to the cream cheese. There are endless possibilities. We put blocks of Havarti cheese in the center like ice cubes and put a Queen Penguin on top with a crown from a mini bell pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
Worth the work! Yes they were a little time consuming but everyone loved them, not just because they were so tasty, but because they added such a pop to the table of party food! Used whipped chive cream cheese for flavor "piping" it in with a sandwich bag with the corned cut out. Had to cut out the slice for the "tuxedo". Didn't bother with cutting out the wedge for the feet as it made no difference. Initially tried to make the scarf as pictured but it was ridiculously hard so I just cut skinny triangles out of the jarred red bell peppers that were skewered below the head. Might try scarves of ham next time? Every single one was gobbled up early on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debby Durband Burns

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Northbrook, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Zigster
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
What a riot making these. I used Herb and garlic cream cheese mixed with a veggie cream cheese I had left over. Definitely need 2 piping bags unless you have help making these. They are a three handed job. Try to hold the head and pipe in cream cheese can be done but not easy. The 'v' you cut out of the carrot cannot be used as the beak-too big-use a paring knife and take a sliver off it for the beak.slips into the cut end of the olive perfectly. Took the advice of another reviewer and cut a small 'v' in the body of the penguin to get more cream cheese piped in. If doing this alone I would suggest having 2 piping bags - one in the fridge getting cold and the other in use. Cream cheese wants to fall out if getting too warm. I blew my friends away because they know I don't have a domestic bone in my body so to show up at Christmas with my buddies-they just shook their heads. I wanted to so a scenery of igloo, ice floats etc but ran out of time. In future i would do the scenery the week before so not to get caught short water ice floats part of scenery not the igloo. Oh and a paring blade like what you use to peel potatoes or carrots makes lovely long scarfs at no cost since you already have the carrots. To make sure they are nice and flexible do them as thin as you can and at the last minute or they get brittle and crack -even if you keep them in water. Well worth the looks on peoples faces when they see them. Thanks for the recipe and the great ideas for scenery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zigster

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Port Elgin, Ontario, Canada
Photo by Karin
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
I made these for our Christmas party this year and everyone loved them! I tried to take a picture before my guests discovered them, but it didn't work :) They were easy to make and extremely adorable. These will be on the menu for years to come
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
Not hard too make and so worth the effort. Will definitely make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOODYMOM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pollock Pines, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
I made these for Christmas dinner. It was really easy. I couldn't do the pimiento scarves because in the brand I tried to use, the pieces were all too short. For those who say it's tasteless - if you love olives, they are great; you don't need to worry about adding a lot of flavors to the cream cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kailua, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
So adorable! A little tip for the filling...we used spreadable cheese in garlic and herb flavor (Laughing Cow). We used a plastic sandwich bag with a small hole cut in the corner to pipe in the filling through the top hole. As the the olive fills the split side separates to expose the white belly, so over-filling will make it seep through the sliced side just enough. Very easy, very fast. Loved the red scarves but couldn't find long pimentos so ours were scarf-less.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
I make these for family picnics,potlucks etc and use decoratative toothpicks with flags,shamrocks or whatever attached to the tops,just to celebrate the occasion. Always get a lot of laughs and too cute to eat comments but they always are gone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Atrillhaase
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
Huge hit and very easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
My daughter-in-law made these, stood them all up in a semi-circle on a plate coated with cream cheese. We put a shrimp on the plate and it looked like they were all "staring" at it! It was cute and yummy too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 675) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cream Cheese Penguins

These adorable cream cheese penguins go beyond cute.

Salami, Cream Cheese, and Pepperoncini Roll-Ups

See how to make a super-easy, meat-and-cheesy party appetizer.

Cream Cheese Mints

See how to make sweet peppermint treats that positively melt in your mouth.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States