Cream Cheese Penguins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
Cute, not as tasty as I thought they might be for the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wood River, Illinois, USA
Living In: Crete, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
I have been making these for 5 yrs & am amazed at the reactions I get. I make a shrimp tree & place the penguins around the bottom..this is my most requested thing to bring....Yes, they are time consuming, but I have finally got it down.... Had some friends over & I showed them how to do it...I use a 16" disposable decorating bag without a tip, just cut the plastic to a comfortable size that works for you... Buy 1 can small olives & 1 can JUMBO...have everything at room temp,( I have mixed the cream cheese with ranch - for variety) I like to have a thick carrot base -about 1/2" ,after cutting out the pie shaped beak, I make that thinner, outerwise it will split the small olive head... Just put the softened cream cheese in the bag & pipe it into the body, add the head, put the toothpick thru both olives & press into the feet,,,you are done...people are so impressed & this is always a Hit!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cris Bynum

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
VERY time consuming. Although using a piping bag to fill the olives cuts down on a lot of time. I also add 1/2 pkg. of original ranch dip mix into the cream cheese. Ties everything together so they are not so bland. I added a "triangle" of red pepper to the top of the head too to make it look like a little santa hat! HUGE hit at our Holiday party, will probably make again next year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
Easy....taste wonderful....and just delightful to serve.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DEBORAHARV614
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
They were a tad time-consuming but a Huge hit!! Some guests didn't want to eat them because they were so cute ~ thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEBORAHARV614

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corry, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Victor, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
I made these for my work Holiday Gathering. They were definitely a point of interest amongst the other goodies. I had people asking me all day about them. I mixed in a little garlic salt to the cream cheese for flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Owls Head, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
This was a HUGE hit at the retirement home today...everyone adored the little darlings and liked eating them too. You made the day for over 100 seniors!!! Thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
Cute and fun. not as time consuming as I thought.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Juliet M.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bolingbrook, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
I made these for a NYE party and they were a huge hit! I added a ranch dip packet as suggested by other reviewers to add flavor, and everyone loved them! Even my dad couldn't stop talking about them, which was a shock to me. I will definitely want to do these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
Gives "don't eat the penguins" new meaning. They're cool, fun to make, great conversation starters, kids of any age love them... but by the time they've been assembled they've been handled way too many times to be a food item. Just saying...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mackie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 664) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Cream Cheese Penguins

These adorable cream cheese penguins go beyond cute.

Salami, Cream Cheese, and Pepperoncini Roll-Ups

See how to make a super-easy, meat-and-cheesy party appetizer.

Cream Cheese Mints

See how to make sweet peppermint treats that positively melt in your mouth.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States