Cream Cheese Penguins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
Cute..... no mention of the scarves. Are these roasted peppers perhaps or tomatoes?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2014
so cute!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2014
Very clever. It's a labor of love. They taste fine, but it's not the taste you're after, it's the look! I used frilly toothpicks. I took them to a party and someone said, "That's the first time I've eaten penguin!" HA HA HA
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2014
They looked cute, but didn't go over very well. No one really wanted to eat them at our Christmas dinner. The grandkids all had one and the rest sat there, so I will not be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRETCHEN ANN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: La Puente, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2014
Didn't make them, just thought they were cute.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darlene
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
I followed other reviewers comments and added some dry ranch seasoning. I do not think the ranch was a good addition. Maybe zesty Italian seasoning would have been better...IDK...it wasn't what I was expecting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2014
My daughter-in-law made these for the holidays - she positioned them on a cream cheese covered tray in a semi-circle and had them all "staring" at a raw shrimp! It was pretty cute!! I thought they tasted yummy too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by muffin5

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: White Bear Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Bemidji, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
These were the talk of my sister-in-law's Christmas party. Believe it or not, these were not that time-consuming--I made approx 40 in less than an hour. Based on reviews, I used onion and chive cream cheese and piped it into the 'body' with a makeshift pastry bag using a ziploc with the corner snipped off. I also made one with a carrot-peel 'scarf' and put it on top of a store-bought port wine cheese ball 'igloo' which I covered with cream cheese. Putting scarves on all of the penguins would have added a significant amount of time to the overall project; I discovered by just doing one that it is a bit labor intensive. Mine were a flavorful hit without the scarves, so feel free to leave them off. My mother-in-law swept through the house carrying the platter of penguins, saying "look what my daughter-in-law made!" That alone made it worth it. I will be making these every Christmas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
Adorable. Easy to make (my daughter helped me) and a big hit at the party! I think they would taste better next time with something added to the cream cheese. There are endless possibilities. We put blocks of Havarti cheese in the center like ice cubes and put a Queen Penguin on top with a crown from a mini bell pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
Worth the work! Yes they were a little time consuming but everyone loved them, not just because they were so tasty, but because they added such a pop to the table of party food! Used whipped chive cream cheese for flavor "piping" it in with a sandwich bag with the corned cut out. Had to cut out the slice for the "tuxedo". Didn't bother with cutting out the wedge for the feet as it made no difference. Initially tried to make the scarf as pictured but it was ridiculously hard so I just cut skinny triangles out of the jarred red bell peppers that were skewered below the head. Might try scarves of ham next time? Every single one was gobbled up early on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debby Durband Burns

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Northbrook, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 663) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream Cheese Penguins

These adorable cream cheese penguins go beyond cute.

Salami, Cream Cheese, and Pepperoncini Roll-Ups

See how to make a super-easy, meat-and-cheesy party appetizer.

Cream Cheese Mints

See how to make sweet peppermint treats that positively melt in your mouth.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States