Cream Cheese Mints Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2006
This recipe is pretty close to the one I use. I don't add the butter, and I use extract (1/2 tsp) in place of the oil. It helps to chill the dough for a while, overnight even, to make it easier to work with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2006
These are great and perfect for any party. These also look great in candy molds to make them look a little fancier for weddings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sutta's

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2006
These are fantastic! I made mine using peppermint extract AND about a tsp of butter flavoring to really get that butter mint taste. I kept them white, put them through a cookie press... beautiful and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brookville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2006
We make these mints for graduations, weddings, showers, first communions, and other special occasions. You can also use rum extract, almond extract, lemon extract, etc. We usually have three or four different flavors on each plate. Divide the dough into sections and flavor each section, or if you are making more than one batch, flavor each batch with a different extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2006
These are so yummy! They are hard not to gobble up while you are making them! I used 1/2 tsp. peppermint extract and added a little powdered sugar as needed. I was afraid to add the food coloring at first and rolled most of them in different colored sugars (I used red, green, yellow, and blue). I got brave with the last dozen and split the dough in half and kneaded in a couple drops of food coloring paste (half red, half green)then rolled them in the same color sugar. They were gorgeous that way!!! I wish I would have made them all that way! Excellent recipe. My 4 year old keeps wanting just one more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lakewood, California, USA
Living In: Makanda, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2006
This has always been a favorite recipe of mine. Here's a tip---use a food processor instead of mixing by hand. The mixture will roll itself into a ball and is easy to remove and refrigerate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
112 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2006
Very impressed with this recipe. Made a couple of changes. I used 4oz of cream cheese, and about 4 cups of icing sugar. I also used 1/2 tsp of peppermint extract. I blended all the ingredients together before adding the icing sugar. I divided the batch in two, and coloured one green and one red. As one reviewer said she got "sparkles" when she dyed her batch of mints, I added the food colouring onto the bowl, and NOT onto the dough. I then blended everything with a mixer and got a nice consistent colour throughout. Will be adding this to my recipe book!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2006
I made these about five minutes ago!! They are FANTASTIC. I couldn't believe how easy they were. I substituted the oil for extract (adding a little to taste) but the consistency with 3 oz of cream cheese was perfect!! Try rolling them in Holiday, red and green sprinkles along with the food coloring, it looks great!! Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SSiguaw

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Blaine, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2006
I made these for a fundraiser. Pressed them into small molds and packaged them by the dozen in small clear plastic bags tied with crinkle ribbon. They sold for $1 per bag. I made a double batch that yielded about 100 per recipe. Although it is time consuming because each piece of candy has to be formed individually, they are easy to work with. If the candy is sticky, just continue to add powdered sugar, about 1/4 c. at a time, until it is a workable, non-sticky consistency. Using molds takes no longer than pressing with a fork and gives a more professional look. I used about 3/4 tsp. peppermint extract per batch and that seemed to be about right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mallinda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norristown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Salem, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2006
The instant I saw this recipe I called my mom to the computer, my family has been making these as long as I can remember To those that say its too sticky, my mom says the recipe isn't calling for nearly enough powder sugar. If it is too sticky, simply add more of the p.sugar. If it is too minty for you, don't use the oil, use extract, or simply cut back on the oil. I made these last year & realized I only had Torani Peppermint syrup & used that instead, still came out great. Always, always a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 217) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cream Cheese Mints

See how to make sweet peppermint treats that positively melt in your mouth.

Cream Cheese Squares

Flaky crescent dough layered with sweet cream cheese filling.

Salami, Cream Cheese, and Pepperoncini Roll-Ups

See how to make a super-easy, meat-and-cheesy party appetizer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States