Cream Cheese Mints Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
I am rating this one a 4 because I had to tweak it a bit to suit my needs and tastes but still think it a great starter recipe. I made these and used a mold for shaping them. To do that I needed to add 1/2 c to 1 full cup more powdered sugar for a less sticky and more cohesive consistency. I also added more peppermint extract, and I recommend rolling the balls into powdered sugar before pressing them into a mold so they remove more easily and you don't have the crunch of granulated sugar. They tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
They didnt become hard at all and no one liked them. Dont recomment this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
These were the talk of the party! So pretty, yummy, and easy to make. I rolled the mixture into small balls and then rolled them in granulated sugar before flattening them with a fork. Gave a slight sparkle and kept the fork from sticking. People actually thought I had purchased them. Especially good when dipped in melted dark chocolate!!!!! Better than a York! Just be sure to refrigerate them well so they are nice and cold before dipping. Otherwise, they will lose their shape. FYI: I did not use the butter as my recipe (given to me by a friend) did not call for it. Definitely not necessary. I used an 8 oz. package of cream cheese, 8 cups of powdered sugar and 1/4 tsp of peppermint OIL. Perfect!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Green, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
Easy and tasty. I used peppermint extract instead of oil (a little over 1/4 tsp.) and they turned out wonderfully. I rolled mine and snipped with scissors to save time. My husband said they look just like restaurant mints!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
loved by all, pressed is easier than molded with the kids
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daysee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Helena, Montana, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
Not worth all the time it takes to roll into little mints... They tasted just like cream cheese icing and were too sweet for most people. I used an 8 ounce package of cream cheese, so I had to add a lot more icing sugar to make it easier to work with. I would rather just buy store bought mints and won't make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
This was incredibly easy! They are so light, they melt in your mouth. I followed directions exactly except adding more peppermint extract (I didn't have oil). I also added the coloring before adding the powdered sugar like someone suggested. Turned out perfectly!! I can't wait to give this out with my other goodies. I know its going to be a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lynnettemarie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
I made these into the size of large chocolate chips. I used just my finger to get them out of the bowl, however I think when I make them again, I will roll small sections into ropes and cut them. I think that would be easier. However very tasty and addictive! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
this was so easy to make, and so yummy.. I doubled up on the mint, the mints were wonderful and the house smelt like mint for hours.. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Erika
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
These are tasty, fun, and pretty easy to make!! I used 4oz of cream cheese, 1 tbsp butter, 1/4 tsp pure vanilla extract, 1/2 tsp pure mint extract, then after creaming those together, just added powdered sugar until I got the right consistency to mold. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erika

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 220) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream Cheese Mints

See how to make sweet peppermint treats that positively melt in your mouth.

Lemon Cream Cheese Bars

Quick, easy, sweet and tangy!

Cream Cheese Squares

Flaky crescent dough layered with sweet cream cheese filling.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States