Cream Cheese Mints Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by TUNISIANSWIFE
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2013
NOTE: the recipe calls for peppermint OIL. I see reviews where folks are stating that the dough was too sticky and they are using EXTRACT. big difference between two drops and a tsp or so of something that you are mixing into powdered sugar. I didn't have oil so used extract and just adjusted accordingly by adding a bit more confectioner's sugar. I doubled the batch and also sifted the sugar to avoid any small pea-size lumps. I also let mine dry overnight and turned them over half way through the drying process. The 'dough' works beautifully to put it through a cookie press using the star disc and adding a stripe of red or green. They are creamy and mallow yet they stay together nicely. The key I think is to adjust the amt. of sugar if you are using extract instead of oil. thank you for this nice addition to my holiday treats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TUNISIANSWIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: King Ferry, New York, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
I liked the idea of the recipe, but there wasn't enough peppermint. I would add 2 more drops of peppermint extract and use less sugar for better results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
Tried this before sticking exactly to the recipe but my mints needed A LOT more powdered sugar to be workable with the molds. Tried them again, this time essentially doubling and using the ratios MariaMou suggested and it worked like a charm!! Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2013
AWESOME! Made several batches for an anniversary party. Went over great. Am going to use this recipe for a birthday party. You can use ANY SHAPE you want. I have found that the more different the better. What is really weird is the fact that some people love these if they have a different flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2013
too sticky to make the mints, great taste though
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cookie734
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
My family loves butter mints, and this is a much "healthier" alternative to store-bought. I used chopped, fresh mint instead of peppermint oil and stored them in the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookie734
Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lillian
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
I made this recipe as other members suggested by using 4 oz. of cream cheese. I also increased the peppermint extract to a heaping 1/2 tsp. I didn't have powdered sugar so I used regular sugar which made my mints very grainy, but that's not the fault of the recipe! My mints were very sticky and hard to work with but the flavor was very good! Similar to a 'York Peppermint Pattie' candy, just without the chocolate coating! I didn't add any food coloring. I will have to try it again using powdered sugar and adding more powdered sugar until it's less sticky!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whitestone, New York, USA
Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
I thought these were good, but my husband didn't care for them. The cheese taste was too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl in Canada

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
Me and my dad made these mints. We tried the mixture and it wasn't pepperminty at all! We added 2 more drops of peppermint 1 more cup of sugar, 1 more ounce of cream cheese, and 4 drops of food coloring. Over all it wasn't that impressing but they turned out good. Add more peppermint oil as needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: West Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
Made one recipe but used 4 ounces of cream cheese (1/2 of an 8 ounce block) and 1/4 t peppermint extract. They were very good and a hit at my holiday luncheon. I rolled the dough into small balls (probably about 1 t or less) and flattened with a fork like a peanut butter cookie. It made about 30 of that size.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by It's A New Day

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Purcellville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Winchester, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 220) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream Cheese Mints

See how to make sweet peppermint treats that positively melt in your mouth.

Lemon Cream Cheese Bars

Quick, easy, sweet and tangy!

Cream Cheese Squares

Flaky crescent dough layered with sweet cream cheese filling.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States