Cream Cheese Mints Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2008
This recipe saved me! My stepdaughter wanted me to make mints for her wedding, and I had lost my original recipe. I made over 1000 1" round 1/4" thick mints, rolled them in granulated sugar and they dried perfectly and within hours. Creamy perfection; my father-in-law, who hates cream cheese, said that the mints were the only thing worth eating at that reception (lol, he didn't know I made them). Thanks a billion, this recipe is fantastic!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CookinBug
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2007
These are pretty good. I divided the dough into 3 parts, left one white and added green and red food coloring to the others. It took me about an hour and a half to roll all the dough into tiny little balls, but they look adorable and are quite tasty. The dough is much easier to work with after it has sat for a while and I did have to add about a 1/2 cup more of confectioner's sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2007
Yummy! I made them exactly as the recipe called for, and they were perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2007
These are delicious. My Gramma made these for my wedding and this recipe is just like hers. I made them for Christmas, used red and green food coloring to make them look like individual red and green gift packages (from a Christmas mold I got at Walmart--the less detailed the mold, the better for this candy). I keep these in the freezer and take them out right before serving them (they don't freeze hard)- the colder they are the better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by palakpaneer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salina, Kansas, USA
Living In: Frisco, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2007
Wow, so delicious and fun! I made these for a Christmas party that I'm going to, and they are amazing! I did use 4 ounces of cream cheese instead of three for this recipe. I used 5-6 drops of food coloring per batch. I used rubber candy molds in the shape of a Christmas tree and jingle bells to shape them, which was time consuming but very fun, and they look so cute. The key to using the candy molds: refrigerate dough for a bit, then fill the candy mold with granulated sugar, then dump out the sugar (you want the inside of the mold to have a layer of sugar). Make marble sized balls out of the dough, then roll them in granulated sugar and press into mold. Remove the candy from the mold by just putting it over the cookie sheet lined with wax paper(sprinkled with sugar)and press it out. After a few, they will start to just fall out. I made the original recipe with peppermint and also made some using cinnamon oil. . . it is hard to pick a favorite, but my mom LOVED the cinnamon! Definitely worth the time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by C.C.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norman, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2007
This recipe TASTES very good, but I have yet to be able to make mints out of them. I have already added 3 extra cups of sugar, refrigerated overnight - yet they are still to hard to work with!! I don't know what's going on!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2007
I used 4 oz of cream cheese, after reading other reviews. These were tasty and cute for a baby shower! I added just smidge of liquid red food coloring. I served them as balls and "smushed" balls, I used a fork. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristin Reusser

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2007
I I helped friend of mine make these mints for her neice's wedding. She realized she didn't have he mold to make them in. I suggested that we roll them in balls and mash them with a fork like "peanut butter cookies". We didn't know we were basically "following directions" until I asked her to send me the recipe! The flavor is excelent. And they are so easy to make. This recipe is a keeper!! M J Brown
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2007
These are fabulous. I added a little extra peppermint, I think they're a bit too sweet without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2007
I made these for a baby shower last summer. I was a little nervous about how they'd go over because I didn't have any peppermint oil, so I just used peppermint extract. Also, I was slightly heavy-handed with the food coloring that I put in, and they were put-your-eyes-out blue. That didn't seem to be a deterrent to the guests...they ate and ate and ate them and then one of the guests asked me to make them for her daughter's wedding shower this spring. They do take a little time to make, but they're so yummy that they're totally worth it! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer in TN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Shelbyville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 221) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream Cheese Mints

See how to make sweet peppermint treats that positively melt in your mouth.

Lemon Cream Cheese Bars

Quick, easy, sweet and tangy!

Cream Cheese Squares

Flaky crescent dough layered with sweet cream cheese filling.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States