Cream Cheese Mints Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
This recipe is made very easy by using a food processor. I used peppermint extract (which is alcohol and peppermint oil) and it required much more than two drops. The extra moisture required just a little more powdered sugar as a result (maybe 1/4 cup?). I rolled them in granulated sugar to help me form them into balls. I also put them in the freezer for an hour, and then dipped them in chocolate (with a little shortening mixed in) and the results were delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENWHITT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Midlothian, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
This was a very interesting recipe. I made these mints for Christmas, and I'm just not sure if the measurements are correct as listed. Does cream cheese come in packages of 8oz? I had to guestimate how much 3 oz was and with 3 cups of confectioner's sugar I had to give it a little more cream cheese. I will try again though and I appreciate having a simple mint recipe. It's always fun to try and make your own instead of buying them! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Justine Topel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
These was a great recipe. I doubled the recipe and colored 1/3red the other 1/3 green and left the last portion white. I also rolled my dough into ropes and cut them with a butter knife then tossed them on powdered Sugar. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baby Potsticker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Simi Valley, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
These are a bit time-consuming (bc each mint has to be formed individually), but easy and cute :) I used 4 oz cream cheese and 4 cups of powdered sugar. Half of a tsp of peppermint extract worked out well for me! I rolled into balls and then flattened with a spoon. Cute addition to my cookie tray!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portage, Michigan, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
These turned out great. Fast, easy, and funto make wiht kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by strayredbolt

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
DELICIOUS!!!! A bit time consuming to make but worth it! I put them in the freezer to try and save some but the kids just eat them frozen!!! They're addictive!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ladybuggs5224
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2009
Perfection. I used all 3 cups of powdered sugar and that was just right. I used extract because I didn't have the oil and that worked just fine. I did use the paste colors as they make for a more vibrant color. These were pretty simple to make I squished some into my candy molds and cut some from ropes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladybuggs5224

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
I never could get the balls to form right. *sigh*
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Starsha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sweeny, Texas, USA
Living In: Helena, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2009
I put "the Best" because I've never had anything like these before. They are SUPER and sooo creamy. First, the amount of peppermint oil you should use depends on your taste or what you are looking for. I'm not one that really likes peppermint a lot, and two drops is plenty for me. My husband likes 5 or 6 drops in his, and so does everyone else that really likes peppermint. I always add powdered sugar until it comes together and is not sticky. That way the balls are easy to roll. This recipe can be played around with a little. Add more cream cheese if you like, but just add more sugar, too, so you get a rollable or moldable "dough." Also, you can add any flavor oil. Food grade oil is cheap and easy to find on ebay, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by I ♥ allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2009
These are my favorite!! My mom and I made little roses. We used almond flavoring just because that's our favorite. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy 'Sally Stitches' Hendricks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bismarck, North Dakota, USA

Displaying results 71-80 (of 221) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream Cheese Mints

See how to make sweet peppermint treats that positively melt in your mouth.

Lemon Cream Cheese Bars

Quick, easy, sweet and tangy!

Cream Cheese Squares

Flaky crescent dough layered with sweet cream cheese filling.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States